I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 19, 2013 - 10:51 a.m.

I'm Not the Only One That's Supercute

I have to get better at starting to write. Well I am now. Let's see what comes out.

After I finished writing yesterday I realized it was 5:30 on a Friday so Free Music Friday was beginning at the Museum of American Folk Art. I raced over there. Every Friday the lovely Lara Ewen curates and hosts a show with three performers. If I'm in the neighborhood I go whether or not I know the acts. I don't even check to see who is playing. I have a confession to make. I always have trouble remembering Lara's name. Sorry Lara. Somehow her last name invades her first and I sit there thinking, "It's something with an E." This time I decided to try something new. To remember a name I usually create and image that will give me the name. Last time I tried thinking of her in the snow with Omar Sharif. Anyone know why that would work? It's because Omar Sharif starred in Dr. Zhivago and his love interest, I think wife but I've never seen it, is named Lara. That's the only other Lara I know. Well that didn't work. The image didn't come to me. So this time I'm trying for a musical clue, Lara's Theme. It is from the movie and I played it on the accordion. That's why I know Lara's name. So I'll look at Lara and hopefully here oO Somewhere My Love Oo and Lara will pop into my head.

This was not one of my favorite shows. None of the performers made a big impression on me. the last came close. I loved the way he played guitar and ukulele. He has a great stage presence but his songs didn't do it for me. That happens. Lara has great taste but It's hard to match somebody else's taste especially on a limited budget.

My next stop was Trader Joe's I wanted to pick up something for the house concert today but nothing excited me. I have an idea for something to get today.

My final destination was the standard Hotel by Cooper Square so I headed to the East Village and ate at Crif Dog. It was a bit of a hike but I had time. In fact I had enough time to stop at East Village Books. I found a book about James Branch Cabell! He's my favorite author and nobody now has even heard of him. He was big in the 20s. I'd love to see what somebody else has to say about him. Of course it could be total crap.

Finally I made it to the Standard. I've never been there before. It is under construction and there is no door saying "Standard." There's no address at the door to the venue. I had to ask to make sure it was the right place. I have never been there before.

I was there to see Supercute. It was part of the CMJ Music Marathon. Admission was free which was nice. Supercute is young, Rachel is all of 20, Julia 18, or have one or the other had a birthday? There audience is young. I tend to stand out though there was a woman sitting next to me older than I was. She asked me, "Which one is yours?" I had to explain that none were but that I've known Rachel since she was 9. I was joined at my table by two men in perhaps their thirties. I think and hope they were industry people. That's what CMJ is about.

CMJ Holdings Corp connects music fans and music industry professionals with the best in new music through interactive media, live events and print.

CMJ.com offers a digital music discovery service, information resources and community to new music fans, professionals and artists.

CMJ Events produces the legendary CMJ Music Marathon, the largest and longest-running music industry event of its kind, in addition to live events and tours across the US.

The two gentleman were quite impressed with the band and kept asking me about them. After the show one went over to talk to Rachel. It would be ice if something came of that.

Julia, Rachel, and Heather

This was the first time I saw them with Heather on bass. I couldn't get Rosie the drummer in the pictures.

This was much better than the last time I heard them. There were sound issues the first song and a half, but they fixed them so I could hear the lyrics. They have evolved into a harder rocking sound and there are some growing pains. It's harder to get the mix right. Last time the bass drowned out everything. This time it was Rachel's uke. I do like the idea of a ukulele blasting.


There is really nothing like Supercute. They are self described as "yummy bubble gum" but that does not tell the sotry. I wish I could have gotten a picture of it but on the back of Rachel's guitar is the banana from Velvet Underground & Nico. I didn't ask but Julia's hair could be a nod to Nico. Only 15 people saw Velvet Underground but all of them started bands. Somehow Rachel and Julia did even though they weren't born then. Their parents were just kids then,. But somehow they managed it. They blew the guys sitting with me away with their cover of Paint it Black. What kind of bubble gum is that? Adams Black Jack? They are not a cover band and do plenty of originals too. They have an album and keep promising a new one. It's time it came out. I want it.

They are like no one else I see and I love that.

After the show I went over to talk to Rachel then I ran into her father Jason as I was leaving. I was looking for him but he generally lingers in the back.

I managed to edit the photos of Bobtown from the night before. Katherine and Jen make things hard for me as a photographer as they change instruments and of course I need at least one photo with every instrument. I couldn't get one good picture with all of them. This is the best I could do.


Alan, Katherine, Jen, and Karen


Fred, Katherine, Jen, and Karen


Karen



Katherine and Jen


Fred


Alan

Now I have to get ready. I'm off to see Raina Rose and Rebecca Loebe at Gene & Isabel's House. Not too late to join me. The show is at 3:30 in Merrick. All the info is herem Court House Concerts. Call or text me if you want to go.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 19, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!