I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 19, 2013 - 4:19 p.m.

Tales of Brave Ulysses

The Chronoklepts were more effective than usual today. I've been up since 8:10, it's almost noon, and I just started writing,. I was just asked what a Chronoklept is so I'll explain again for those that missed the original explanation.

Chronoklept:: noun A malicious creature or spirit that makes people procrastinate. From chrono: time + klept :steal.

You are now thinking, "that explains so much!" The truth is out there. Well actually its in here. It's not just mad it's also wise.

I must have somehow offended the god of subways. It is either Hades as the god of the underworld or Poseidon, as the earthshaker and creator of the horse, thus the god of the iron horse. Hephaestus, the engineer of the gods might be possible too. . Odysseus offended Poseidon so the god kept creating mass transit delays which made Odysseus's commute home take ten years, a regular odyssey. The same things been happening to me. No trip has run smoothly.

I wrote about once incident in facebook but now I'll elaborate. I had to go to school yesterday. That should be an easy trip. I take the to the which takes me right to school. That isn't how it went.

I got to the station, swiped my metrocard and found that my monthly expired. No big deal I went to the machine to buy a new one. It couldn't read my credit card. Not only that but something was wrong with the slot and it had trouble sliding in. I put it in again. It couldn't read it again. People started giving me "advice." "You're doing it too fast." "You have to push it in then hold it there till it tells you to remove it." The latter is just wrong. It can't read the card if it isn't moving. I tried about four times and let the next person go. It was the guy that said, "you have to hold it in .. " Of course that didn't work. He pulled it out and tried it over and over and it actually worked for him. I tried again. It didn�t' work. I tried it a few more times and it didn't work. I let the next person go. She tried five times and it wouldn't work. I went to the guy at the token booth (there are no tokens but we still call it that) and told him the machine was broken. He said, "it works, try it again." I told him I tried it seven times, an understatement. He said, "it works, try it again." I said, "It doesn�t work for anybody." He decided he was finished talking. I guess there is some work involved in getting a work order to fix it and he wanted the guy on the next shift to do it because he was dead set against accepting that it was broken. That reminds me I have to write the MTA and tell them it is broken. Done.

The clerk does not take credit cards and I don't carry enough cash on me for a metrocard so I walked to the next station. Good thing is it ridiculously close. I got there and there were people using the machine. They were adding money to a card to make it come out exactly to $4.50 and had trouble doing that. The first time it came out $5.00 and they had to start again. I stood their outwardly patient but inwardly annoyed. They finally finished. the machine worked fine and I got my card quickly. I raced ahead of the people who were slow buying the card. I got to the stairs. There was a young woman, a teen, on the stairs. She apparently was with the people now behind me. We could all see that there was now a train in the station. The the only train that stops there. She walked down as slowly as a human can walk, stopping now and then. I said "the train is here" and she didn't speed up. We got to the bottom as the train pulled out. She said, "is that our train?" As I said on Facebook I want a medal for not killing her, I didn't even make a sarcastic response. Then a train came by on the express track. Then another with a close on its heels finally came. My first thought was to just take the to Times Square where I can switch to the or just take the all the way and walk half a mile. Instead I stayed on the train till Atlantic where the platform is indoors and waited for the next which comes on the same track. So what happened? two trains come in a row. I finally the getgs there. I started to read then fell asleep. I always wake up at my station. Well almost always. Well technically I did wake up at my station but it was right after the doors closed. I had to get off at the next station and stop and take a train back. "Whom God's Destroy They First Make Late." I am the new Odysseus.

I got to school and discovered that the text book for my precalculus class had not arrived. That means I couldn't prepare my lesson. It now can't come in till the first day of class, Tuesday. I'll have to try prepare after my early class, if it is in by then.

I did prepare for the Finite Math class and I prepared the both course outlines and attendance sheets and printed out handouts for finite math so it wasn't a wasted trip but it felt like one. Somewhere along the way the anxiety started to hit me. I wouldn't call it an attack but I had that feeling in the pit of my stomach. Even more fun. When I was finished working I was frustrated and anxious and in need of food therapy. I went to Goodburger and got a burger, fries, and a shake. I got the large shake, I needed lots of therapy.

I wasn't done. I stopped at Duane Reade and got breathing strips and while I was there bought what I thought was a donut. it was actually a mini apple pie. They feel no need to tell you what you are eating there. It was good and I ate it.

I fo course had inordinate waits for the trains home but at least nothing ridiculous happened.

Wow this was supposed to be a reflective entry as I didn't do anything interesting yesterday. That's not how it worked out. I'm going out the next few nights so I'll have more to write about. Won't you ever get to read about me and making sausages? I hope so but not today.

My glasses are ready. I'm going to ask Elrond if he can give me a ride to Costco. I'll have them for the start of school. Tonight I'm going for the first and last time to the legendary Gaslight. It's closing. I'm going with Eowyn. There is no good reason to not give her real name but I'm getting into mapping people onto Tolkien characters and that's a perfect fit for her. That reminds me that Arwen called her boyfriend Aragorn to me! This is why I love my friends. There is few things better than taking a joke and running with it.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 19, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!