I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 28, 2014 - 11:29 a.m.

We Are Stardust/We Are Golden

Welcome to a trying to be positive edition of Wise Madness. Just dropped my initial introductory paragraph and I'm starting again.

Back on Christmas eve I saw this at the Columbus Circle subway station.

You might not quite get what's going on in that pic so here's he video.

That's reason 1345 that I love New York, people playing Santa Claus is Coming to Town on the violin in a Santa suit while hula hooping. She gave me a nice smile when she saw me shooting. If that doesn't say "Festivus" what does?

I have so many picture and videos that I haven't processed. I really should get to some of them.

Last night I did something very tourist but I had an excuse, I was with tourists. Heather's family is visiting and I went with the clan to Ellen's Stardust Diner. That's the one on Broadway in the theater district with the singing wait staff. I know somebody that worked there but I don't remember who it was. It was from before I met her or him.

It's pretty easy to get there, just take the to the . But when I got to Times Square to make the transfer there was an announcement of delays on the . It's only 9 blocks to 51st street where the diner is so I said, "No problem I'll walk." I bet some of my New York friends will know what I'm about to say. I got out of the subway to Times Square and it was a solid mass of humanity. The place was filled with people, mainly tourists. To make things worse much of the space was fenced off to prepare for New Year's Eve. People were force onto narrowed sidewalks.

The problem with the tourists is that they don't know how t navigate in a crowd. If you grew up with them you automatically make adjustments. You constantly adjust your speed and direction to avoid people walking perpendicular to you and slower than you. You know not to stop or make sudden changes of direction. You walk through Flushing any Sunday and it's just as crowded but you can make your way through it because everyone there is used to it. My parents used to tell me that Flushing was just like walking through Hong Kong. It was not just because the people are largely Chinese but because it's this huge throng of humanity that can still function . Tourists can't really function. When one comes from the side or comes towards you they just keep walking. They don't do the little dance. Now sometimes the dance does not work and when that happens both people usually smile at each other as we know it was nobody's fault. we both just kept adjusting in the same direction. It's a tiny bonding thing.

In any event it was a chore walking those 9 blocks. Heather, and her family, parents Paul and Deborah and sister, Caitlin, were waiting online to get in. Now that's something I won't do on my own. Why wait for a restaurant when there are so many you don't have to wait for? But it's different when you don't live here and this I your only opportunity.

We didn't wait that long, at least I didn't. They were waiting from when I got to Times Square before I realized that the train was delayed. It was probably at least another 20 minutes.

We got in and they gave us a booth, which worked because the women were slim and could fit three in a booth meant for two. The men got all the coats.

The music started with Christmas, then moved to Broadway. I love Christmas music but I love singing it and hearing many versions of it but not so much the Broadway/Cabaret style they did. The Broadway was great. I had seen most of the shows. I was brought up on this stuff. They did one song twice, "Let it Go" from Frozen. I guess every crowd demands it and they have to make sure everyone hears it once. Which means some, like us, hear it twice. Not the worst thing in the world. It's a good song.

The third segment was miscellaneous pop that was hit or miss. The staff is all aspiring Broadway performers and they did remind us of that. The Emcee told us what shows he'd been in. I wish I remember who I knew worked there. I don't know if they are exploited or if they make really good tip money. How are they paid? The food is overpriced and I'd like to think that some of that goes to them.

Now the important park the food. I had something simple, a burger and fries, but it was excellent, especially the waffle fries.

After dinner I walked Heather and Caitlin to Rockefeller Center where they could catch the . I started to walk down Sixth to take the home when I realized that was insane as it would mean dealing with the crowd again and I'm not sure it was the fastest way. I got on the at 42nd and switched to the at Atlantic Ave. That was a lot more pleasant.

OK, time for breakfast. I'm getting this up before noon. Give me a cookie.

Wait! Wait! Don't go yet. I just realized that I wrote about Stardust two days in a row. Yesterday it was the movie, today the diner. How can I work Stardust in tomorrow. I'll ask the Spiders from Mars.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 28, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!