I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 05, 2010 - 10:59 p.m.

The Origin of Speace Ease

I've wasted enough time tonight I'm going to update. My original plan was to update during my break but I realized that I had to prepare my lesson for calculus. Then as I was finished I realized that I had skipped a super secret section, it was in the wrong chapter of the book as far as I am concerned. The funny thing is for that lesson my entire preparation was writing "Indefinite integrals and initial value problems." The rest I can do off the top of my head.

I had to go to the post office to pick up a package today. The problem is that I live nowhere near my post office and you can't find parking near it. I can take the subway and at the times the E train stops at my station that's direct but it is also costly so I decided to walk. It's 1.2 miles from my house, according to google maps the walk should take 22 minutes. I left my house at 4:28 which meant I had ten minutes to spare. I needed it because I had written down the wrong address and had to walk another 10 blocks. I took the direct route home. Well as direct as possible. The way my neighborhood is laid out you often "can't get there from here." Here is a map of my path home.

View Larger Map

OK it is almost ten and I haven't started making dinner. I better get this written.

Last night I went to see Amy Speace. It was a full band show with the Tearjerks. To make it more special Anthony da Costa sat in on electric guitar. It was a late show, scheduled for 10 PM but started at 10:20 or so. That didn't stop not only me but Lori not LORi, George, Jeff, Sue, and Jeff& Karen from going to the show. Since Amy moved to Nashville local shows are not to be missed events.

I had Lori take a photo of me.

In case you are wondering what happened to the beard.

Yes I gave it to Anthony. He's taking over for me in Fiddler on the Roof. So does he look older than me now?

Amy took advantage of the band and for the most part rocked out. Her one solo song was my favorite of her slow songs, Haven't Learned a Thing. I videoed my favorite rocker, "Would I Lie?"

That says more about Amy than I can put into words. She is beyond good. She's improved so much since I first saw her. Is it her songwriting? Maybe. Is it her musicianship? Maybe. I think it is that she is more at ease when she performs. Where did that come from?

OK while it is true that she's improved it isn't because she is more at ease. I just said that to justify the title of this entry. Someone should use it as the title of an interview or she could use it as an album title.

I took some photos of course.


The band


Amy emoting


Rock Stars!

Oh, after the show Lori got this photo of me doing merch. Did I tell you I did the merch? Did I need to tell you that? I'm the emperor of the Speace Corp.

I had an interesting conversation with a customer. He was a priest with an accent I had trouble pinning down. He was born in Dublin but grew up in Oxford and speaks Received English, aka public school English aka The Queens English aka BBC English. He can slip into Irish and did for my amusement.

After the show I gave Amy the money and George drove Lori and me home. That was nice. I got back at a decent hour, a little after midnight.

OK it is almost 11 and I haven't eaten. I better sign off and make dinner.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 05, 2010
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!