I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 03, 2016 - 9:27 a.m.

Village People

I have a DSS appointment today but it's at 1 PM so I have time to write this morning. That's exciting as I feel this is the "normal" time for me to write. I can't afford to waste time though. When I go to program I set my alarm for 7:30 but I'm usually up before 7:00 when the light comes through my window. I wanted to sleep till 8:00 this morning though I didn't set my alarm. I went to sleep a little after midnight. I woke up at 7:52. Not bad planning. I am very good about taking my Zoloft as soon as I get up. The trick is I have to take it before I go to the bathroom or I'm never sure if I took it not.

I did things yesterday, I don't have to talk about program and commuting. Yesterday I had a typical day for me, it just had more commuting. After program I headed into the City to see Richard Barone Presents "Sorrows & Promises: Greenwich Village in the 1960s" Music Series at Jefferson Market Library. This a monthly series. I saw the first and loved it, missed the second, and got to go yesterday. It's not as easy as coming from Brooklyn or school. After program it's a bus up to the Harrison train station and then MetroNorth down to Grand Central Terminal. I got in around 4:20 and the panel didn't start to 6:30 so I made my game plan. I would have dinner at the newly reopened Pomme Frites on MacDougal Street. I had time so I walked; the weather was perfect. I got there and asked if they still had poutine; they did. So that's what I ordered. We had cheesesteak for lunch, I had a good and cheesy food day. I'm still savoring that poutine. We talk a lot about mindfulness at program and I realized that is pretty much more normal state. That's what all my talk about food is; being in the moment and experiencing, not just eating it.

Then I went up to the Jefferson Market Library. I was early and they weren't letting us in yet, they wouldn't even let us line up at first so I sat down and read Game of Thrones. When they let us in I was able to grab a seat down front. Who was I next to? Pete and Maura! They were not officially on the bill but they did join in on a few songs.

As I explained after the first one, Sorrows & Promises the series explores the evolution of the singer/songwriter scene of Greenwich Village in the 1960s. There was a lot more there than folk music though that's what it grew out of. They started with a song by Dion. Dion had moved on from the Belmonts but couldn't get his music released till Abraham, Martin, and John in 1968. He musically made the transformation from pop star but the world was not ready for it.

The musical guests were Steve Addabbo and Marshall Crenshaw. I was delighted when Marshall did Dylan's Bob Dylan's 115th Dream. That was one of the songs that made me love Dylan and still one of my favorites and I never hear it. Dylan could be very funny. There was also songs by Janis Ian and Velvet Underground. Did they play something by Simon and Garfunkel? They came up a lot in the discussion.

I learned about Tom Wilson. How have I never heard of him. He was an African American Jazz guy at the heart of the singer/songwriter scene. He had worked with Sun Ra and Coltrane then he produced Dylan, Simon & Garfunkel, The Clancy Brothers, and I'm blanking on who else. But it was an impressive list. One of the panelists is working on a documentary about him. I want to see it.

The series is like watching a live performance of a Ken Burns documentary. It's spontaneous and the panelists interact with each other and the audience. It's fun and it's an education. It's taking the summer off, there will be films instead, but it's picking up again on the first Thursday in September.

After the show I walked over to Union Square to catch the . I was making great time, I didn't have to wait long to transfer to the express . Everything was great till I neared the last stop Pelham Bay. Then the train just sat there. We finally were able to move into the station and get off and I had to wait 20 minutes for the BX 29. Then the draw bridge it has to cross in Pelham Bay Park was up and we had to wait for a ship to pass. If not for those delays I might have written last night.

Today I have an appointment with the DSS in Brooklyn and then I'm seeing The Kennedys at Spiral Sounds in Jersey City. You should join me. There are still some seats left. You should go. Follow the link. I shouldn't have to sell you on the Kennedys, I have written about them more than anyone, and Spiral Sounds is one of the friendliest most comfortable house concert series and it's in a beautiful house in Jersey City. Gidge and Loyse, the hosts, are such great people. Sure you'll have to put up with me but it's worth it.

Now I have time to make breakfast before I have to go. I might have time to kill in Brooklyn or Manhattan today. I hope it doesn't rain.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 03, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!