I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 08, 2014 - 11:33 a.m.

Sodium Kompany of America

I'm in a weird place this morning. Let's see where this goes. Remember no matter what I'm ostensibly writing about this is a personal diary and I'm always writing about the state of my mind. You just have to work through more layers sometimes to see it.

As has become the rule when I'm home there's nothing I want to write about. I'm only writing of my life when I'm out. That's not a rule I'm imposing it's one that I noticed. Sometimes I just observe what's going on here.

Last night I went to see Matt Nakoa at Rockwood Music Hall. I was all excited about the trip. This is the first weekend in a month my subway station was open. I didn't need a shuttle bus. That means I can get to Rockwood in about 35 minutes. I gave myself 55 minutes. it took me an hour. That's what happens when you wait 20 minutes for the . So I walked in 5 minutes late and Matt had already started. So now we need some back story. When I was a child in Gimmelshtump I was forced to be a garden gnome. Wait wrong back story.

Where did I meet Matt? I was either Falcon Ridge or NERFA. Neale introduced him to me. I saw him perform at NERFA. He did folkpop songs on the piano. In the lobby I heard Matt play classical on the grand piano. I got to know Matt as a person when he drove me back to Brooklyn after NERFA. Talking to Matt I discovered there's a lot of there there.

So now I walk into Rockwood a little late and see a band onstage with some guy singing and playing guitar and the music is rock. You know I don't see well. I wondered if it were Matt? Could I be in the wrong stage? He had Matt's hair. He sounded like Matt. He was really good. So I figured it was Matt doing something else. He was. I knew that he wasn't always a folkie. To tell you the truth I like the rock even better. As a rocker he rocks. He commented that I was dancing. I couldn't help it. Sometimes you have to move to the music. Next song some women joined me. Well they danced. They didn't dance with me. Story of my life. Matt danced too.

Sorry the guitar pics didn't come out well. here's a couple on the piano.

Is it just me or does he look like Peter Brady in the first pic? Maybe Matt should cover Sunshine Day. What I'd really like to hear him cover is Emerson Lake and Palmer. He got the keyboard chops for it.

Matt's band should be called Sodium Kompany of America. I have faith that some of my readers know why. If you do let me know.

I think I was 25 years older than anybody else there. I always sort of like that. It shows my musical arteries aren't hardening.

As lots of my friends are folk presenters I have a suggestion. Book Matt and let him know he's free to bring his band and rock out.

After the show I said hi to him then went to Georgia Barbecue for dinner. I haven't done that in a while. I always get the same thing there and it isn't barbecue. They have the best fried chicken in New York. They also have a great wait staff even though I never seem to get the same waitress twice.

I tried to check in on FB from Rockwood and couldn't. I couldn't get on the internet. I have not been able to get on the internet on my phone without WiFi since then. Anyone know what might be wrong? I tried to call Boost mobile but couldn't talk to a person. I emailed them and told them the problem I'm addicted to using the internet on my phone when I'm not home It's the main thing I use the phone for.

Yesterday was the Belmont Stakes. I didn't watch but I know that California Chrome didn't win. There was a time I watched all the Triple Crown races. I went to the Belmont twice. I was here when Affirmed won the Triple Crown back in 1978. He's the last horse to do it. But the one I remember the best and the one I want to write about is Secretariat. He caught my 15-year-old imagination and has kept it. That Belmont Stakes was the greatest race I ever watched. It's one of the greatest sporting events I ever watched. It still gives me chills. Watch it.

It was not a close race. It was a runaway. that's not supposed to be exciting. But somehow it is and almost everyone thinks so. Why? It's because Secretariat wasn't racing against the other horses. Big Red was racing posterity. He was racing all the greatest horses that ever lived and ever will live and winning. His time is still more than 2 seconds faster than any other horse has run. Afterward some woman gave a bizarre quote. "He restored my faith in humanity." This is a horse she was talking about. But there's something satisfying about seeing unqualified greatness.

I watched Kill Bill Volume 2 last night. OK I guess I do write about things that happen at home. I'm not unqualified greatness. Neither was the film. I'm sorry to say I didn't love it. It was excess for the sake of excess. I had such high hopes for Tarantino after Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction. But he is one trick pony. The best part and the only one that lived up to the earlier films was Bill's discussion of Superman. That was great. Superman is different from other superheroes. Clark Kent IS the disguise.

I have no idea what I'm going to do today. It's beautiful so hopefully I'll make it outside. No guarantees with me. I have to do some shopping too.

A friend just told me that I'm the only one keeping her sane. That's one of the things that's keeping me sane.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 08, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!