I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 14, 2015 - 12:58 p.m.

Slow News Day

Wow the chronoklepts did a good job today. It's taken me over three hours to start writing. It isn't like I was doing anything important. I haven't talked about the chronoklepts for a while. If you don't know what they are figure it out from the meaning of the roots. OML I am not the only one to use the term, Timothy Crowley the First.

So what ere yesterday's adventures? I made the trek up to my post office box. I did not get a notification I had mail but Amazon told me they delivered a package there on Monday. What was it? I broke down and bought a new portable phone charger. I got tired of my phone going dead every time I went out. I found a discontinued model cheap. It's called a mini-charger and it came in a box many times too large.


the context of the smaller box


Everything in the carrying case.

It could have come in a box smaller than the small box.

I charged it overnight. We'll see how it works. I wish my old one hadn't broken.

I went from the PO Box at Columbus Circle to the Brooklyn Heights Trader Joe's. I had accidentally bought crunchy peanut butter last time I was there and had to exchange it. I bought other things while I was there of course. My banter with the cashier was the totality of my conversation for the day. I have a lot of days like that. It's starting to get to me. A friend commented to me one how she had not spoken with anyone the day before. That happens to me often.

One of the things I bought was chicken wings. I had Buffalo wings for dinner along with roasted potatoes and garlic bread. First time I ever cheated on the bread and used garlic power. Then I left it in the oven too long and burnt it and I forgot to add the cheese. Yet it was still good. I had an ice cream soda for dessert.

I have to admit it I am into The Game of Thrones. I'm about ten episodes into the second season, The Battle of Blackwater. It's not the greatest thing since sliced bread but it holds my attention and I'm usually up to watching it. Some of the characters became likable. They didn't start that way. It's never going to be one of my things but it's not Lord of the Rings but it's worlds ahead of Harry Potter.

I did not have a good night's sleep. First my allergies acted up something fierce. The generic Zyrtec took care of that but it took a while. And it exacerbated a problem that didn't go away. When I walked to Rockwood a wind came up and blew grit in my eyes. My right eye hurts and is tearing quite bad. I am out of eye wash. I will have to buy some today.

My Rotisserie Baseball team The Nashional Batnoses has fallen to third place! That will not stand. We are only two points out of first and will get it back.

I was going to do a political rant but I'm not, Instead I'm going to eat. I can't decide what to eat. I think poached eggs is going to win. You have no idea how many times I have rewritten this paragraph. I keep starting to write about something and deleting it. I'll sum the common thread between them up. I can't comprehend how people reject reason and closely related how people will say ridiculous things to promote their politics. I criticize and correct people I agree with often. I'd like to see people on the right do the same.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 14, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!