I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 26, 2011 - 12:21 p.m.

Slotted Spoon River Anthology

I hate when I can't get traction in the morning. It would be great if I could just get up, do what I have to online, then write. It never seems to work that way. I'm actually still procrastinating from yesterday. This is a major procrastination project. I've been planning on doing that for a while but I kept putting it off till now.

I was supposed to write a lot of what I'm going to write today yesterday. I was ready to write a second entry when I got waylaid by the evil distractosaurus aka Carey. She forced me to go to Turntable.fm. It's an evil chronokleptic website where you and your friends or total strangers take turns playing music for each other and chatting.

Oh I remember an idiot story that I meant to tell the other day. I have a few pairs of shorts I sleep in when it gets warm. One of them disappeared. I really don't have one to spare. I hunted high and low and couldn't find it. I figured it must have fallen behind some piece of furniture. Then when I was putting away my last laundry, I found it. It was in the drawer where it belongs. That was the first place I looked. It isn't like I assumed it wasn't there. I have two theories of what happened. The first is that is actually not an ordinary pair of cotton sleeping shorts but instead is an intelligent creature of great power who used its ability to teleport to go on a mission to save the earth from a black hole on a collision course with earth undetected by mere human astronomers and it returned when it's mission was accomplished. The other theory is a bit of a stretch; it was right next to the gray sweatpants which are the same color and I just didn't realize they weren't the sweat pants. The first theory seems a lot more likely but I'm keeping an open mind.

I know those that read my last entry are sitting on the edge of your seat wanting to know how using my brand spanking new slotted spoon went. Not well. I made poached eggs. First I forgot to start the timer and timing is everything. Then the moment of truth came, removing the eggs from the water with the brand spanking new slotted spoon. The first went moderately well, sure some of the white fell off but most of the egg ended up on the bread and I picked up the pieces. Then it was the other eggs turn. Maybe it was upset because it was second Maybe it's because I told a lie to my mother, but the egg pretty much disintegrated. I couldn't figure out what to do with it then. I wasn't sure what would happen if I poured it down the sink. Would it clog it? I then had the brilliant idea of pouring into a colander. It didn't look to appetizing then so I made another one. That came off without a hitch.

Last night I had dinner with Henry. That's not an everyday occurrence as he lives in Columbia Maryland. He was up here for something else and we met at dinner beforehand. I know Henry from SMAF so of course we talked a lot of music. We also talked baseball. I can pretty much always talk music and baseball. We ate at BLT Burger. That chocolate, peanut butter, banana shake is heavenly.

Afterward I thought of hanging out in the village but ended up just heading home. I really should have seen what else was going on. I forgot that Tammy Faye Starlite was doing her salute to Nico. That's where I should have been.



After all these serious matters I'll now turn to something frivolous; When I was reading the NY Times article on the passage of the same-sex marriage bill there were responses by its opponents including a joint statement from the New York Catholic Bishops:
The passage by the Legislature of a bill to alter radically and forever humanity's historic understanding of marriage leaves us deeply disappointed and troubled,
What is wrong with altering our understanding of something? Isn't that what progress is? Was it wrong to change our understanding of slavery? How about human sacrifice? This is not an argument against gay marriage at all. It did get me thinking and now I want to write a letter to the Times in the form of an open letter to the bishops and Senator Diaz, and all the opponents of same-sex marriage. It also inspired me to give a take on the whole thing that is totally me. This is a first draft of the letter.
The legalization of same-sex marriage provides us with a great opportunity for an experiment in social science. I'd like you to come up with predictions of dire events that will be the results of allowing people of the same sex to get married. Do you think there will be more divorces? Will there be fewer weddings? Will there be an increase in single parent households? Will the suicide rates increase? What exactly do you think will happen? Make quantitative predictions and then in five years we will compare how New York fares compared to states which have not legalized same-sex marriage.

The bill will have immediate good consequences for tens of thousands of people. There needs to be a good an objective reason to deny them the benefits and joys of marriage. Religious objections are not relevant. We don't forbid the sale of pork because it is forbidden by Judaism and Islam. We don't ban beef because it taboo to the Hindus. The First amendment forbids such actions and forbids banning same-sex marriages on religious grounds. It also forbids compelling any religion to perform the weddings. The protection runs both ways.

If you say there are objective objections let's put them to the test. If your fears prove unfounded will you remove your objections? If not then they are not based on harmful effects of same-sex marriage but on fear, hatred, or prejudice.

It needs some work before I send it in but it's conveys what I'm trying to say.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 26, 2011
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!