I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 30, 2014 - 1:01 p.m.

Oh the Knee Dell's Connected to the Shindell

How did I wait so long to start writing? Oh right Chronoklepts. It isn't my fault.

So last you heard I was home with a Crohn's attack but on the mend. And that's Crohn's not Chrono. Around 4 o'clock I felt good enough to try eating. I couldn't resist having matzoh brei. I proved I am not a good Jew by dicing up Taylor ham and mixing it in. Hey I usually cook it in bacon fat, I didn't do that. When I fry things like that I use ghee. I'm not sure if that's better than oil but I'm becoming a ghee wiz.

Then came the question of how I'd react. Would I end up doubled over in pain? The answer is no. I was uncomfortable and there were moments of pain as food was forced through the constriction in my ileum but it always made it through and didn't get stuck. It was my first meal in two days.

Then I was off to the arctic, Irvington NY to see the great Richard Shindell at the Irvington Town Hall. It was a Common Ground Community Concert run by the Emperor of Westchester Folk Music, Carter Smith. That means that even when I don�t' know the artists I get to do merch, which I did. I left shortly after 5:00 to make a 5:50 train at Grand Central Station. Google Maps which are usually good said it would take me 36 minutes. It didn't. There were all sorts of problems and I got there at 5:56 and had to wait to the next train at 6:20. Luckily it was only a half an hour. I called Carter and told him that I'd be late. He was sending someone to pick me up at the train station. It isn't a long walk but it's all up hill and it was raining and I was sick. With that combination I'll take a ride.

I was picked up by Maria. I didn't know I knew her till I saw her face. I am not good with names. I know all the volunteers but I am so bad with names. Now I know Maria, Sara without an "h" so I knew she wasn't Jewish, and Winston. Will that last to the next time I'm there? Maybe, writing it down here helps. I made sure to visualize them as I typed their names.

I had a nice merch table at the back of the auditorium I could watch the show from. it was a sellout! But what I didn't have was a bank. We scrambled up $30 which I knew would not be enough.

I was surprised I didn't know more people in the audience. The only one I saw that I knew was Matt. Susan Werner was playing just up the road in Tarrytown and I had at least one friend there. Was anyone else there that I didn't see?

I always say that Richard Shindell ruined a generation of folk singers because he makes things look too easy. And he does but I'm not sure what necromancy he uses to accomplish that. His music might not be Richard Thompson which everybody knows they can't do but it isn't simple like Dar's. His songs are complex but they create the illusion of simplicity. Contrasts like that are a huge part of his genius. He understands subtlety. He never hits you over the head with what he's trying to say. He had a new song that I loved, he described it as "anti-objectivist." It's called "Atlas Coughed (Ayn's Error)." I know far to many songwriters what would write some variation of "Ayn Rand sucked." It would be a rant not a song. Richard knows better, there's poetry and humor. It's one of my favorite songs by him and that says a lot. He then proved how funny he is by doing a different version of the song. It had the same melody but the lyrics were about how he is trying to write a song with no meaning but by saying that it has meaning. That's just the way my mind works. I love that self-referential deconstruction. How many times have I don't that here?

There is often cognitive dissonance between the lyrics and the music. He is thought of as lyric driven but his music is far more important than a lyric poet's. He doesn't do instrumentals but he songs can have instrumental passages that hold your interest.

the overall feel of his shows is often haunting and dark. But he does interject humor. He couldn't believe he was was the first one to write a song called "Stray Cow Blues," He can find meaning in a cow that didn't come back to the barn at night.

He was joined by Sara Milanovich on fiddle, Marc Shulman on guitar and Guiseppi aka Joe on drums. I thought that Sara and Marc were both my FB friends. I know Sara from her work with Carolann Solebello. I'm mot sure how I know Marc. But after the show Sara came over to do the credit cards with the merch. I didn't recognize her at first then it hit me. We got to talking and now we are FB friends. When I wrote about Sara with no h so I know she's not Jewish earlier it reminded me to friend Sara with no h Milanovich who I am also guessing is not Jewish And despite the fact that I talk like that she accepted the request. I really don't know why anybody talks to me.

I had a scare doing the merch. I thought I had three $50 bills. I commented about it when I counted out. Then I only saw two of them. Then when I did the check I was $30 short! I was sure I gave someone a $50 instead of a $20 as change for a $50. Then Sarah pointed out that she took $30 with the credit card reader. Whew. I'm sure if I was healthy I would not have missed that. I'm an idiot but that really does make thing worse.

When we were done it was 4 minutes after the train left. It was an hour to the next one. Then Sara, the volunteer, suggested I look at Tarrytown. That train left earlier and was expess so it would get me home half 25 minutes earlier or so. I still didn't get in till nearly 1 AM. three people slowed me down enough that I just missed the . One couldn't help it. He had trouble walking and was in front of me getting off the Metro North train. But the others I was ready to shoot. On the train there was a bunch of people standing in the aisle blocking me and the slow walking gentleman while they just talked. Then on the escalator down to the subway there were two people one standing on the left right next to each other so I couldn�t walk down. I didn't want to be pushy and ask the guy on the left who should have stood on the right to move. I figured what are the chances it would make a difference? It turned out that it was 100%. But that is only after the fact.

When I got to the Tarrytown Station I went to get my book, Wise Man's Fear out of my bag and found my bag open and the book not there. I am 700 pages into it. I can't wait to get it back from Sara if it's in her car. I will have to buy it again. I might make a special trip to get it today.

When I got home I tried eating some more. First I had apple sauce. that went well and made me hungrier so I had a peanut butter sandwich. That made me even hungrier so I had a banana. Not eating for two days builds up an appetite once there's room in your digestive system. Now I'll have a nice breakfast.; I think I'll make it a simple bacon and eggs.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 30, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!