I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 22, 2013 - 11:09 a.m.

Shhhhh

I didn't do much yesterday so writing today will be a challenge. I don't have a grand theme planned. Of course one might come to me.

Yesterday I wrote the eBlast for the First Acoustics Chicks with Dip Blue show. I felt I couldn't just do quotes for this one and that nobody was better suited to write about the show then me. I have been disparaging singer/songwriter music of late. I don't take back a word of what I wrote. It is so easy to be mediocre in the genre and so hard to rise to the heights. But this is what I had to say about the original album.

It can be claimed by rock, folk, and jazz but it is the quintessential singer-songwriter album. It transforms the deeply person into the universal.

There's nothing wrong with the genre it's just that it fools people into thinking it's easy and you can achieve success without great material as melodic banality appeals to many people.

Sumer is icumen. It was hot yesterday, in the 80s. For the first time this year I wore summer clothing, a t-shirt, shorts, and sandals. My plan is to not wear socks again till school starts. Of course it's 60˚ now so if it doesn't warm up that won't happen. When it gets warmer I lose the t-shirt and wear wicking fabrics or linen. I'm happiest in summer clothing. It's the most comfortable.

I went out for ice cream last night. I knew there was no good place in this neighborhood so I used Google to find someplace not too far away. I hit upon Blue Marble Ice Cream. It was more of a gourmet ice cream bar than an old fashioned ice cream parlor. I ideally wanted something like Eddie's Sweet Shop in Forest Hills where I could get an amazing sundae or milk shake or ice cream soda and eat it in comfort. But I took what I could get. They had sundaes and floats but this was clearly a place about the ice cream so I had a chocolate cone. the one interesting thing I did was have it on a pretzel cone; it�s salty. The ice cream really was good. Not as good as Cones on Bleecker Street but still exceptional and much closer.

The best thing about being an adult is that you get to eat like a child. I left late and wanted to make sure I got there before it closed so I got my ice cream before dinner. The only reason that strikes people as odd is convention. As my father would say, "It all goes in the same place."

I followed it with hot wings. They were not that great. I heard some young people there talking about snapbacks. Do you know what a snapback is? I had no idea so I googled it and found it on Wikipedia. It's just one of the cheap baseball caps with the plastic snap fastener That was all I've worn most of my life as I couldn't afford a fitted cap that I'd probably lose anyway. But I was happy when they improved adjustable caps so that instead of a plastic snap there was a cloth strap and buckle. Apparently that isn't cool. Of course they also leave the brand stickers on the brim. Some styles I will never understand.

I was aghast when a woman ran in and ordered wings and asked the guy to bring them outside as she had left her baby in her double parked car. Do you ever really need wings that desperately?

I remember something I wanted to talk about. When I saw Jean Rohe on Sunday I had to change my seat. The people at my table wouldn't stop talking. It was the birthday of one of them. It was the fault of just one of them. Every time they got loud he initiated it. He start showing them pictures on his phone. Or point to something and start talking. I don't think he paid any attention to the music. I am pretty sure they were there because the birthday girl was a fan. But that didn't matter to him. He felt the need to be the constant center of attention.

Talking at shows is the most common complaint among concert goers. I had a discussion about this via Facebook comments. Some people thought the problem was getting worse. I don't. I still get mad thinking about this loudmouth at Paul Simon in Central Park. His theory was that because it was a free show he could talk as loudly as he liked. I never got that reasoning.

But I'm not going to try and find the reasons why people do it but discuss what might be done about it.

First off even though it takes precious time the performer can say a few words at the start and say, "If you feel that you can't keep quiet for the length of the show you can leave now. I'd prefer to play for a smaller audience where everyone who wants to listen can listen." My guess is that would get a cheer. You don't have to do it every show, Just places like Rockwood (not during On Your 'Radar) where people often talk. Ken Rockwood was the master of dealing with people talking when he was performing, He'd stop singing and stare at them. Once at the old Living Room he drove out a noisy table doing that. When they left everyone applauded.

I probably should have said something on Sunday though just getting up and moving expressed my disapproval. The rude people need to be made to feel a social stigma.

I'll be honest I've talked too loud at shows. But when I realize I'm doing it I shut up. If know that what I really want to do is talk we leave. Some people when you say something get quiet. Others like the one at Paul Simon don't even see what they are doing is wrong. Those are the real problem.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 22, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!