I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 13, 2014 - 12:54 p.m.

I Bet These Guys are Tired of Me

I'll have to figure out what to write about today as I didn't do much yesterday. Well let me tell you what happened and I'll move on from there. I went up to my PO box. Isn't that exciting? I got my new pair of silk long underwear. They make a huge difference. I'm now spoiled and don't like going out when it's cold without them. I have one wear of "silk weight" polyester. It is not as warm or as comfortable. I don't feel the silk, I just notice that when the wind blows I don't get cold.

My next stop was Trader Joe's. For the sixth visit in a row they did not have the frozen chocolate croissants. But this time when I asked I found that they had a box in the back. They just don't order enough. The case is filled with pumpkin croissants but they sell out of the chocolate right away. You'd think they would realize that means they should order more chocolate and less pumpkin. I suspect that what happened was that they overstocked he pumpkin and are trying to get rid of them while they are still in season.

When I got home I did something I've put off waaaay to long, my laundry. I try and do it once a week. It's been a month. I had a lot of laundry. The only reason I had underwear is that I hand-washed some. Once I get on the street I use my shopping cart but I have to carry it up and down the stairs. It's not heavy it's my laundry. No it's heavy.

Somehow I didn't get finished with all that till ten o'clock when I started to make dinner. I ate very late. I made usual soup. This time I tried adding salt. I put in too much but it was still good. I made it with plantains this time. I gave myself a treat and had pita with olive oil. I'm trying to figure out what to do with the pita for breakfast.

Know what I didn't do? Make a chocolate croissant! They have to be left out overnight and I forgot to do that. Grrr. I wanted it for breakfast today.

Before I went to sleep I had a long talk with Katrina. That's always good for me.

I wish I kept track of my concert going. What I want to write is what musicians I've seen the most often the last year and what my favorite concerts were. I know I'll give a totally fake list of the musicians I've seen the most. What that means is I'll make some guesses and use Google Calendar to help me count how many times I saw them. Being on this list means they are a favorite act but not being on the list doesn't mean they aren't. It's tough to make the list if you don't live near New York.

Google calendar is acting strange. I'm starting with Jean Rohe who I have probably seen the most often. When I searched for her name it says 21 results but it only shows 10. That might be how man in the last year so I'll go with that. Now of course I probably saw her more than that. If she's part of a big show with many artists, like Falcon Ridge that won't come up plus I might not have put every event on my calendar. Then again I might not have gone to each of these. But I'll stick with this number. So here's the scorecard.

Jean Rohe � 10
Spuyten Duyvil � 7 (I know that's too low it doesn't include last week.
Kristin Andreassen � 7
Bobtown - 7
The Lords of Liechtenstein - 5. Hell I know that's too low.
the Kennedys - 4 not close
Kat Quinn - 3 also a ridiculous undercount

I can't find Mya at all and only two shows by Miss Tess so I know this is not accurate.

OK starting today I start keeping my spreadsheet of concerts. Maybe I'll go back through all my entries here and do it retroactively. But not now

I know the venues I go to most even if I don't have an accurate count. I would not be surprised if I had been to
Rockwood Music Hall 50 times. I was there for 12 times for John Platt's On Your Radar alone. The only other place that will reach double digits is Jalopy.

I started writing late and I'm hungry so I'll get going. I am going to try to roll up bacon, eggs, and cheese up into a pita. I'll tell you how it goes.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 13, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!