I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 21, 2014 - 12:10 p.m.

A Seeger of Wisdom and Truth

We got a new router and they didn't put a password on it. Now our connection speed it shot to hell. the entire neighborhood must be using it. a video that should take 2 minutes to upload is taking over half an hour and it the clock is not counting down.

Yesterday I went to Seeger Fest at Lincoln Center Outdoors. Katrina asked me, "how many festivals and concerts do you go to?" I skipped one weekend, didn't I? I did, I did not festival last weekend. Of course I went to Westchester to see John Elliott but that was not a festival. It's only 5 weekends out of six. Of course I went to two this weekend.

I was thinking of not going as I knew it would take a lot of effort. I'd have to get there early to get a seat and that means making a day of it. Normally I'd get there hours early get a front row seat. I wasn't going to do that. I was also upset I didn't make plans to meet anyone there.

I ended up leaving even later than I planned. I got there only 30 minutes before showtime. They changed the system from the last time I was there. they hadn't let anyone in yet. People had to line up. the line was enormous. I could see everyone wasn't getting in. I looked for friends to join. I posted that on Facebook. And then I head someone call my name. It was Jo! She spotted me so I joined her. Norma was with her. I joined them. Nobody beat me up. It was a Pete Seeger Festival. When we got in we couldn't sit together. thre were hardly any seats. Not enough for our group. I grabbed a single. I was disappointed I didn't sit with Jo and Norma. I was looking forward to that.

I ended up sitting next to two interesting guys who didn't know each other. I was lucky. I started talking to them while they were discussing Quinoa. One of them had been to Machu Picchu. The other could talk intelligently about GMOs! So few people can. He was against Monsanto making GMOs that let people use more pesticide because of the harm of pesticides, not the GMO. He was for the GMO that lets the corn naturally defend itself against caterpillars as it is more sustainable and protects the environment. He had no Frankenstein complex. It was about the actual effects.

We had fun talking about early Clearwaters that I hadn't been to and other music stuff too.

Musically I enjoyed the festival but not all the editorial decisions. There were several performers on my too pompous list. But then there were some of my favorites, Mike & Ruthy, Kim & Reggie, Sarah Lee & Johnny, and Dar. It was funny I looked at my phone and John complained on Facebook that he had problems with the live feed. Kim said that she was there too. She was actually on stage when I saw that. Sorry Kim that I was looking at my phone. Mia Culpa. But I was singing along! The sing along stuff was the best.

A decision I disagreed with was having Holly Near be the finale. Nothing against her but not a favorite. She and the entire lineup sang "We Shall Overcome" not the lyrics I learned from Pete. I'm sure he did variations. Everyone stood up. I thought that was wrong. That is the ultimate sit-in song! And I would have followed it with the song that the Weavers traditionally ended with, "Goodnight Irene." They never played that. People seem to remember Pete more as a activist than a musician. Pete as political as he was never forgot that it was about the music. He knew that a beautiful song had value in and of itself. Einstein made an observation that I love. He was a political activist too. Did you know that? He was very active especially in his later days. He fought for peace and human rights and Israel. But he said, "the poltical causes are for now, the science is for forever." He was right of course. Hell he was Einstein. The politics is a footnote in his legacy. Same with music, The music is for forever.

During the intermission Hara a WfUV found me. I didn't see anyone else I knew. Seth and Jeremy were both there but they were backstage. I know the most interesting people. Of course I knew musicians too.

After the show I saw Bob and he lead me to Rona, Joe, Bobby Jo, and Lori not LORi. they didn't sit with me because Lori hates me. they all wanted to go to Huntington for my birthday but Lori wouldn't let them. But I still love Lori. I'll come back to that later.

We talked about having dinner together but Lori said, "Gordon will ruin my appetite let's go back to Queens so he can't eat with us." I didn't hear her actually say it but I can deduce it as that's what they did. I gave myself a treat and took the subway to 33rd street and ate at Nathan's. Yes that's a treat to me.

I didn't give any commuting,. I took my route to school, the to the to get there. I ended up giving directions to a lovely young woman here for a summer internship that had to navigate around weekend service changes. That is a bonding experience for New York subway riders. Turns out she lived in Sydney Australia for a year and the same thing happens there. What is with me and Australia? Not many people live there but I know all of them.

Now back to Lori hating me. She's afraid people will believe me when I say that and won't like her for it. Of course My Gentle Readers know better. I'm teasing. But why Fred was teasing me earlier today which is what got me thinking about it. We tease the people we feel most comfortable with. At least I do. My friends do too. Have you ever noticed how Carey talks about me? I think we tease because we can. I shows that we are confident enough in the friendship to poke fun at the other person. Now you have to be careful. You can take it too far. There have been times when I was down and couldn't take it. I once begged someone to stop and he used it as reason to continue. He missed the clues that I was really troubled about something serious. And then there are some people that can never laugh at it. So I don't tease them. Obviously I am not one of those people. If I were I'd have no friends.

To some degree it's like riding a roller coaster or eating hot peppers. You get a thrill as it creates the illusion of danger but you know that you are safe. That's enjoyable. So Lori when I say you hate me people know it means that I love you. ... Even though you hate me.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 21, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!