I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 29, 2013 - 10:35 a.m.

The Fair Face of Evil

Not bad I'm starting to write at 9:15. What matters is that I'm not looking for other things to do.

Since the pledge drive my lower legs have been swollen. I broke down and bought the pressure socks and I wore them to the Botanic Gardens. I still had the edema when I got home. So I spent the rest of the evening with my feet elevated above my heart. Then instead of going back to the Botanic Garden for the second day of the festival I stayed in bed all day even though it was a beautiful day. The edema went down. I had ankles again. My plan was to stay in bed as much as possible. I watched Stargate SG1 I had missed most of the last season and I never caught then in reruns. I'm catching up on Amazon Prime instant videos. Things were going fine then Rachel Trachtenburg unleashed her evil scheme, she posted on Facebook that Supercute was playing at Bowery Electric. Doors were at 7:00. It wouldn't even be a late night. There are a few seats and if I got there early I could get one. It's easy to get there. I couldn't resist, I got out bed. My feet became the lowest part of my body, and I headed out. You know that the entire gig was planned just to break my resolve to take it easy and rest my legs. Don't be fooled by her sweet face, Rachel is pure evil

I did get there with no trouble and timed things perfectly. I got there at 7:00. but the doors weren't open. They were still sound checking. I walked around a bit. I leaned against a wall. I told people just arriving that doors weren't open. Then they were. I was the first one in so I could grab my usual seat by the side. There are better seats in the back but they are only better if nobody stands in front of you. I was very good and didn't do my usual restless routine and walk around. I stayed planted in my seat.

I have no idea what time supercute went on. I was also good about not looking at my watch. This was the second show I saw with the new lineup. Rachel and Julia have been joined by a drummer Ruby and a bass player that I'm pretty sure has a name. Hey I'm proud I remember Ruby's name. It's my birthstone that helps. Why do I have a feeling I'm going to get a note saying "Her name isn't Ruby." Or even worse, "My name isn't Ruby." Or even worse, "What are you talking about? There was no drummer, you are totally delusional."

With the new personnel the band is in transition. They did older songs which are self described bubble gum pop. They are bubble gum pop the way that Phineas & Ferb is a children's show. Sure they work that way but there's always much more than meets the eye. The new songs are rock, pure and simple. The essence of rock is t be pure and simple. And guess what. They rock. They aren't cute, they aren�t adorable, they get your heart racing. Of course Rachel and Julia are still cute and adorable.


Rachel refuses to come into focus


Julia isn't as difficult

The last time I saw them the sound was terrible and I couldn't hear. This was much better. I could really enjoy the music. Unusual for a Supercute show I wasn't the oldest one there. There were quite a few people past the half century mark. I didn't see Jason or Tina Rachel's parents. Too bad. I always have such interesting conversations with them.

I decided to stay for the next act, there were four on the bill, it was The Last Car. I am usually not that thrilled by the bands that Supercute play with but I figure that as long as I'm there I might as well check them out. This time I was rewarded. I loved their sensibilities. They did not take things, especially themselves, too seriously. They viewed the world in their own way. At different times they reminded me of Paul and Storm, the Beach Boys, Uncle Bonsai, Sons of the Never Wrong, TMBG, and Moxy Fr�vous . As you might guess from the comparisons they are silly. I like silly.

The venue started to get every hot, That happened the first time I was there. I had forgotten to fill my water bottle so I was thirsty. And my feet started to hurt so I figured it was time to leave,. I grabbed a quick dinner and headed home to put my feet back above my heart. I just checked, I have ankles, no swelling at all.

OK this is annoying. I was going to post this but there is one more picture I want to post. Even though I severed picasa from Google+ some of its evilness still infects the site. I made the album public but it still has the best picture as private so I can't share it. I'm sitting here waiting for the change to go through. It is the last one. I love the way they are looking at each other, I always like photos where the subjects visually interact with each other. They so clearly like each other that it makes the viewer like them. You know the opposite of the Lori not LORi effect where she always looks like she hates whoever she is with. In reality she loves people and just hates me.

Addendum

So you know how I said Last Car reminds me of TMBG? Well Duh, the Robin in hte band is Robin Goldwasser. They are part of the TMBGuverse.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 29, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!