I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 26, 2015 - 12:57 p.m.

Sachs of Sweet Garlic


I did something unusual this morning. I woke up before seven to go to the bathroom. The WFUV was already posted on the blog and I posted it on the Facebook group. I then actually turned on my computer, answered it and went back to sleep. When my alarm went off and 8:30 I didn’t even open my eyes I just said "off" and went back to sleep. I set the alarm so I can answer the question. So I ended up getting some much needed sleep. It also reminds me that I started taking advantage of the voice commands on the phone. I love using it as alarm as I get to hear "Wheelhouse" by Harpeth Rising when I wake up. But it is a pain to turn off. I have to actually pay attention to what I'm doing. When I do it by hand I often accidentally hit the snooze. Now I just tell it to turn off. The day before I answered the phone by voice for the first time when Brianne called. Unfortunately I almost broke her ear drum. I didn't realize it would put the phone in speaker mode and I had the phone to my mouth. Of course I'd really like a mechanical switch I can feel to answer the phone and stop the alarm.

Yesterday I did something I don’t usually do. I went straight home after meeting Carolann. I always go shopping or something. Of course I didn't do my laundry like I should have. Who needs clean clothes?

Instead of doing laundry in the evening I went to see Paul Sachs at Rockwood. It was a 6 PM show but drew a nice crowd. When I walked in I saw Fred and joined him. She had her back to me so I didn’t realize that Karen was sitting at the next table on my left. Later Kay and Ina May showed up along with other people from the songwriter's exchange. Or is that the songwriters' exchange. Perhaps it's the songwriters exchange. Whatever it is it involves less money than the stock exchange. Gone are the halcyon days when a folk singer could make literally tens of dollars.

Paul is tough to write about which is ironic as the one clear thing is that he's a hell of a songwriter. What else can I say? For the most part it isn't cheer you up music. His songwriting like his clothing is dark.

I was hoping for better pics as there was some natural daylight. I didn't take that many as he's a guy with a guitar in every shot. But I still took 26 pics and I'm not actually happy with any of them. I needed to take more.

He does have one funny, rousing, sing along song that I love. Jesus Candle

I haven't seen Paul since my birthday in July. I don't think I've ever gone that long without seeing him before. He does not let the grass grow under his feet and wrote a lot of new songs since then. He wanted to know if they were keepers and I told him, "No they suck.' I lied. Why do I have any friends?

After the show we hung around and socialized then Fred and I walked to the f">. I road with Fred one stop then transferred to the . I was just so scrupulous. I don’t have all the train line macros written yet. I didn’t have the one for the . Now I could have just said it was the which was already written but I didn't. I didn't want anyone picturing me making the wrong walk at Atlantic Terminal. Fox News should enact my standards.

I got home a little after eight and so had time to make a nice dinner. I had bought Idaho potatoes at Trader Joe's the last time I was there. They are so cheap. 69¢ for huge one. So I made a hasselback potato which takes over an hour. The main course was something of an experiment. I made the sweet garlic chicken with in bones chicken thighs instead of a breast fillet. It came out great. Doesn't this look scrumptious?

Mel was asking for recipes so I'm going to give it here. It's so simple. I buy the small 5 for a dollar garlics so if you are using the big ones halve the garlic.

Ingredients:

2 chicken thighs
4 cloves of garlic
2 tablespoons of brown sugar
1 tablespoon of olive oil.(I don't actually measure that out)

Preheat the oven to 450° (The potato ideal cooks at 425° so I compromise and cook everything at 437)
Place the chicken in roasting pan or casserole dish.
Dice the garlic and sauté it in the olive oil over low heat.
Add the brown sugar and mix it in till it forms a paste or sauce. Don’t worry about which.
Poor it over the chicken.
Pop it in the over and in 35 minutes it's done.

It's an incredibly simple recipe that's so good. No reason to limit it to chicken. Try the sweet garlic sauce on whatever you want. I am thinking of serving it as a confection. I'd still roast. That's what gets it that great caramelized texture.

Mel wants the recipe for my grits too. I'll give that next time I make them.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 26, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!