I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 22, 2018 - 3:08 p.m.

We Are Not Trump

I got a check from the states unclaimed funds pool. The best part is that I deposited it immediately and even went out of my way to do so. Some of you might not understand the significance of that. One of the worse effects of my anxiety is that I couldn't deposit checks. That's why they were unclaimed. I take the progress where I can find it.

TD has a new kind of ATM. I wasn't even sure it was an ATM at first. The cool new feature is that it has bills of all denominations, even $1 bills. The uncool new feature is that when it gives you money you don't see it. It's hidden behind a flap. I thought it didn't give me my cash at first and told the delightful employee sitting nearby. She told me where it was and told me that many people have been asking. They key is that she was delightful. TD has the best people working for them. My interactions with them are almost always pleasant. That was not my experience at other banks.

I had an idea for a Facebook page with nothing but links to good news or at least news that interesting and not bad. I was going to make this entry a cheater and just put in links to stories, but they need to be collected over the course of a day.

So instead I'll go back to my original idea, laying out a moral foundation for the resistance. The essence is akin to the golden rule, as that is the moral foundation of everything. It's one grand rule followed by special cases.

Don't do the things that President Trump does that you abhor.

  • Trump tries to divide us. We must strive to unite.
  • Trump repeats anything that appeals to him without verifying if it is true. We must be careful, and fact check what we repeat.
  • Trump lies. We must be truthful
  • Trump demonizes people. We must strive to see the good.
  • Trump keeps his base in fear; in fear of immigrants, people of color, LGBTQ, foreigners, and Muslims. We must foster hope; scared people are angry people and don't consider the consequences.
  • Trump talks before he thinks and then tries to justify it. We must take careful consideration.
  • Trump talks but does not listen. We must listen.
  • Trump bullies. We must persuade.
  • Trump is vulgar. We must be gracious
  • Trump applies different standards to himself and everyone else. We must be fair.

We must follow these rules even when it is difficult. We must be fair to those that are unfair. We must be gracious to those that are vulgar. We must see the best in those that see the worst. We must not use falsehoods and half-truths to further our goals. They did it first is not an excuse. We must be better than those we are resisting. We must preserve the rules of propriety for the day when Trump is out of office. If we don't, then even if Trump is taken down, Trumpism will triumph. We cannot use the Ring of Power without become a Dark Lord ourselves.

It's not easy. We are human. We will inevitably fail at times. We can't beat ourselves up but accept our mistake and do better. We will fight fair, but we will fight hard. We will fight tirelessly. Let those that are undecided, those that disagree with us on many issues, but not on right and wrong, clearly see the difference between Trump and his allies and us.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 22, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!