I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 25, 2013 - 2:42 p.m.

Roots Revival Roadshow

Once again I wasted a day and now I don�t have time to go to my office like I wanted to so I could check to see that my computer problems have been taken care of. At least I managed to get myself to text my shrink to move my therapy to tomorrow. I have to take an earlier train to the Seder than I originally planned. Now it means finding some privacy at school so I can have a phone session. I need a session, I missed last week.

Yesterday I went to Rockwood Music Hall to see
Roots
I got there early enough to grab dinner first. I went to Links the good but slow sausage place next door. I ordered a kielbasa and smashed potatoes to go. I was told there was no kielbasa. I switched it to an andouille with a cheese topping. I was told there was no cheese. There was a "mustard cheese" topping that wasn't on the menu. When I got it I tasted neither mustard nor cheese. My issue there is waiting time. It took 15 minutes which is par for the course. They are very good but they won't stay in business if they can't get their act together. By the time it was ready the sound check was over and I went to Rockwood. I like being the first one so I can grab one of the two comfy seats up on the mezzanine, the ones I call the Statler and Waldorf seats.

This was a good show for me when I'm having social anxiety, I didn't have expectations. The only ones I expected to know there were on the stage. I knew everyone there but the opening act North of Nashville. I had trouble remembering their name and never really got it right till I mentioned them to Celebrian. I said, "they are some southern band." then I checked the name and saw they were North of Nashville, which could be anyplace north of there. Celebrian said "They could be from Maine." She was right, Portland. There was a fiddle and guitar and they were good.

Union Street Preservation Society was up next. The only time I saw them was opening for Red Molly at First Acoustics. That is also where I met Andrew from Roosevelt Dime the previous time Red Molly, played there. Coco was the common thread.

I love these guys. Have you seen them? Brooklyn has an amazing old time music scene. if banjos and fiddles and mandolins set your heart aflutter Brooklyn is where you want to be. Sad to say I forgot their names other than Alex who I ran into at the last Ana�s Mitchell show. I love running into musicians seeing other musicians. But I should know the rest, they are fun people. They are put on a great show.

Last up was Roosevelt Dime. I think I might count as a groupie for them. It took a while but I'm a regular at their shows. Them I know well. They did lots of new material. I love that. Hardcore fans usually do, the casual fans want the old familiar hits. They call their music "Steamboat Soul." The ratio of Soul:Steamboat has increased. On the penultimate song Eben was channeling James Brown.

After the show I left my perch to talk to the bands. I didn't tell Union Street they are invited to the Budgiedome. I'm pretty sure Roosevelt Dime knows they are.

There's more I want to say but I have to get rolling. I am brining my computer to the Seder but I don't want to work on it there. I'm bringing it so I can show this:

We don't have that kind of Seder. We have the kind where you can play that kind of song.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 25, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!