I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 17, 2012 - 12:12 p.m.

Roshambo (look it up)

I am not a happy camper at the moment. My anxiety is very bad, I have a headache, and it tastes like something died in my mouth. If I'm having physical problems I should just stay home and rest. If the problem is in my head I should go out and do things. If it's both I should ... reboot? Nah. I'll blog.

Yesterday was a beautiful day and I for the most part wasted it. The only time I left the apartment was to do my laundry. At least I seemed to be able to do that without it becoming a crisis.

While I was out I stopped at the news stand to look at page 263 of Elle Magazine. No I have not taken a sudden interest in women's fashion. My friend Milton told me to take a look at that page. This is what I saw.


That's his granddaughter Rachel Trachtenburg. She's in not one but two of my fav bands, The Trachtenburg Family Slideshow Players and Supercute. I've known her since she was nine when she was the drummer for the Slideshow players. It's a strange world where my friend is a model in a major fashion magazine. As J.B.S Haldane said, "The Universe is not only queerer than we suppose, but queerer than we can suppose." Good thing too.

Last night I went to see Rock Paper Scissors at Kenny's Castaways. I had never seen them before Tuesday night. They were part of John Platt's On Your Radar. You know I like an act if I see them for the second time as soon as possible after the first. So now go back and read what I wrote about that show, Reflected Microwaves. Finished?

Rock Paper Scissors impressed me even more the second time around. Their songs show a tremendous breath of styles. At different times the reminded me of Renaissance, We're About 9, The Medieval Babes, and the Quebe Sisters. Maybe it's because the keyboard player's name is Miranda but I kept thinking of Miranda Sex Garden. That was the original incarnation of the Medieval Babes. On the first album they played madrigals. On the second they switched to punk rock. I could see RPS doing that. I would love for them to do a madrigal. I'm not so eager to hear them do punk rock.

I spoke to Miranda and Gemma but I'd like to talk to them more. I get the feeling that there is more to the band's story than I know. They are brilliant and weird in other words my kinds of people. John Platt talks about his thing for smart beautiful women. I go for the brilliant and weird. What does that say about me?

For no reason whatsoever I didn't talk to Darla at all either night. It just worked out that way. So much of what happens in the world happens for no big reason, just a collection of unrelated circumstances. It's related to the butterfly effect. People have trouble accepting that. They want things to have meaningful reasons. The universe doesn't care what you want. It does what it does.

Hey that wasn't the place for the philosophy. That was the place for me to come up with praise and analysis of their music. Part of the reason I wrote that was because I wanted to talk to them about their musical training and influences. Are they aware of the large gaps in when they come with the harmonies? Is that intentional? Did they pick that from somebody else?

The overall impression their music leaves on me is intellectual and fun. In a sense they are nerd rock but instead of the weird subject matter of They Might Be Giants their intellectualism is in the musical structure why the sound and their personalities provide the fun.

I don't know how they are going to proceed with their career. Darla lives in Paris, Gemma in Iowa, and Miranda in San Francisco. That makes rehearsing problematic. There is no such thing as a local gig for them. I suggested they all move to New York which has to be pretty close to the geographic center of their current homes. Speaking of New York they did one of the great New York musician experiences, they busked in Washington Square Park! I wish I had been there for that. Moxy Fruvous did that their first time in the City. The Roches did that with the Caroling Carolers. I joined the Carolers one year. Yes I sang, not just listened. Nobody died or went deaf as a result. I busked there with Carey as Trainwreck With Clowns. Of course TWC is in the tradition of Commedia dell'Arte not concert music. Our act was basically us being our usual ridiculous selves.

Rock Paper Scissors set was at 7 PM. They had a second longer set at 10:15. I intended on going to that. I had enough time to go home in between. The problem is once I did I fell asleep watching TV. I don't know when or if they will be back. This new York tour, they also did a gig at the Port Washington Library, was their first time playing outside of Iowa. I don't know if they know if they are coming back. I do know that I want to see them again and soon. I know they are too good to not be touring. It will be tough but they better find a way to make it work. I want more of them and it's all about me.

Know what? Writing that made me feel better. My head does not hurt. Maybe I'll be able to overcome my anxiety and answer my emails and make the phone call to a friend I need to make. I hope so. I feel especially bad about not making the phone call. I hate being a bad friend.

Before any of that I'm going to eat. What's on today's menu? A sausage omelet. I should also do some shopping today. Then I'll figure out what to do today and tomorrow. On Sunday I'm seeing Marti for the first time in what might be ten years. That's ridiculous I love Marti and she doesn't live that far away.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 17, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!