I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 21, 2014 - 11:45 p.m.

Said James to Red Molly

I'm pretty much exhausted so I'm going to write only a short entry and not about today but yesterday. I'll write a Clearwater wrap up on Monday.

Friday night I went to see Red Molly. It's so odd that seeing them has become a special occasion. There was a time that if I went a month without seeing them it felt like a long time. If I went two weeks without seeing Abbie that was forever. I'm still "with the band" even when I don�t' formally do the merch. You can tell because I shared a table with Susannah, Andrew from Roosevelt Dime's was the opener. How did I forget that I had met her? He's a banjo player whose fianc� is named Susannah? I often forget names but I forgot we met and she has a name I'll never forget. And I like her, she's fun. She didn't get mad at me when I asked, "when Andrew proposed did he have a banjo on his knee?" I told her I lost some respect for him when she said, "no."

I actually went with someone I'm not sure if I've ever had a +1 at a Red Molly show. It was Heather Unusual commute. I took the bus to her house in Williamsburg then took the to Union Square. She needed her glasses fixed and I knew there was a good optician there. From there we walked down to City Winery. The weather was perfect and it just seemed easier.

The show was great. It was my first time hearing Red Molly sing my favorite song, 1952 Vincent Black Lightning. As always I cried. I made Heather feel my tears so she'd know I wasn't exaggerating.

Red Molly and Roosevelt Dime are closer than most bands. Abbie is married to Craig and next week Molly is marrying Eben I asked this before but I'll ask again Can you name another pair of bands that had two interband couples?

Because they are close they formed a super group The working name is Conjugal Visit. That is NOT permanent. They are probably mad that I told you. Good thing I'm cute so I can get away from that.

I helped out on the merch As it's pay what you want it's answering people's questions. The person from the venue didn't know anything and I of course know all about both band's music. Just not lyrics because I am lyrically impaired

For dinner as it's expensive we split an order for chorizo and figs and an order of fries. I was worried about figs. They triggered my Crohn's disease last time I had them. But these were cooked and soft and the skins pretty much dissolved Yay I can eat cooked figs!

After the show we hung out or a while, gave the bands our ideas for the supergroup's name and headed home. When we got back to Heather's we supplemented our dinners with baked potatoes with peanut butter. Yes I corrupted Heather! Peanut Butter omelets are next. I'm evil.

Glad I had good timing with the bus on the way home. It was late and I had to get up at 7:30. I didn't get home till 1 and didn't get to sleep till after 2 I was tired But that's the story or my next entry.

I didn't take any pics of the show but Heather took a selfie of us. This is good as I always look best next to a beautiful woman Don't quite know how that works but it does. I look almost human Well Carey thinks I look like chopped spiny anteater liver so maybe not. It is so hard being me




I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 21, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!