I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 28, 2012 - 2:06 p.m.

Red Hair and Black Leather in Brooklyn

These morning headaches seem to a regular thing now. I'm pretty sure it's my sinuses. The pain is in the right spots and when I press on the bones it hurts. I'll write through the pain because I'm a martyr. don't do anything to help. I'll just suffer in silence. It's so hard being me.

I got busy listening to the Chicks with Dip on John Platt's show and talking to mini-Hagrid about Joni Mitchell. That distracted me and the headache is now gone the way of all flesh. Well OK not quite but if I don't move my head fast I'm fine. Let's see if I can write while listening to Carolann Solebello sing Blue. Well all I accomplished during the song writing the macro to insert a link to Carolann's website. Can macros be imported?

This is the kind of interview I'd have trouble following if I didn't know the people as I would never know who was talking. You can't learn six voices not attached to faces during the course of one interview. I remember the first time I heard the Roches interviewed. That was worth even though there are only three of them because they are sisters and sound alike. The Chicks each have a distinctive voice.

So what did I do yesterday. I was going to go to school but I procrastinated too long. At least I graded the quiz I gave on Monday and kept forgetting to take home to grade. Grading is always depressing. The quiz was just memorizing five formula that are interlocked so if you know one the others are easier. They are built in obvious patterns that I emphasize. I might as well show them to you.

(A + B)� = A� + 2AB + B�
(A � B)� = A� � 2AB + B�
(A + B)(A � B) = A� − B�
(A + B)� = A� + 3A�B + 3AB� + B�
(A − B)� = A� − 3A�B + 3AB� − B�

What I point out is that in each case on the right except the third, the powers of A go down by one and the powers of B go up by one and they always add up to the exponent on the left side. The coefficient of the middle term or terms is whatever the exponent is on the left side. When there is a minus on the left you start with a plus and alternate plus and minus. So if you know one formula you can get them all. But they can have so much trouble with it. Some of course don't put any effort into learning them. What I'm more concerned with is that some students simply try to memorize it as a series of random symbols. That is of course extremely difficult. Learning how to memorize things is an important skill even if they never use these particular formulae again. That's what I'm trying to teach them. I'm going to try and teach you. At the end of this entry I'm going to give you the left sides of the equations and you'll have to come up with the right side. That is the exact quiz I gave them.

Now comes the reward for those of you who did not come here for math. I graded the quizzes on the subway on my way to see Red Molly at First Acoustics. I had been looking forward to walking there since I moved to Brooklyn. Of course I couldn't go to the shows when I did. Now I live in Manhattan and had to take the subway.

I wanted to have dinner verse but I got there later than I wanted to so I figured I'd grab something after the show. I forgot that Coco feeds the musicians and when I'm helping out I get to eat too so things worked out perfectly.

When I got there I dropped my stuff off at the merch table and walked back to the green room/ dining room. As I walked in the door everyone started applauding. It had nothing to do with me. They hadn't even seen me. I never figured out what they were applauding because I immediately claimed it for myself by saying "Thank you." Yes I'm five years old. Don't be an ageist.

Red Molly was there with The Union Street Preservation Society, the openers. I never met them before but took an immediate liking to the band members on a personal level. That always gets me nervous of course as I hadn't heard them perform yet and if I didn't like them things would get awkward.

Red Molly sang my theme song then one of the members of Union Street, or maybe it was one of the volunteers, said, "You must be Gordon." I honestly didn't know how she knew. I forgot that the Mollys sang my name. Oh in case you are an obnoxious pedant I decided that the plural of Molly is Mollys and that the collective noun is a cuteness of Mollys.

Chris walked in a little after I did. He got applause. It's easy to be feel appreciated there.

Chris grabbed us seats which I forgot to do and we had dinner, at least I did. Chris snacked.

Merching for Red Molly is very easy as it's pay what you want and people just put their money in a box and make their own change. The only hard part was the t-shirts. I forgot the color code of the rubber bands, couldn't find the sheet with the code on it, and my prescription is so out of date I couldn't read the labels. Chris had to find t-shirts.

When Union Street Preservation Society went on I was happy to find that I loved that. That was a relief. If I hadn't I would have had to not friend them on facebook so they wouldn't read my withering criticism or at least my silence. So what do they play? Something between jazz and hillbilly music . There's a mandolin and a banjo that's always a good start. Do I remember any of their songs. Hell I am lucky if i remember a Red Molly song and I've known some of them longer than Red Molly.

I was a bit disappointed that Chris was the only old school Redhead there other than me. The Brooklyn and Queens people will travel to Long Island or Jersey but the Lawn Guylanders and Joisyites won't travel to Brooklyn.

I have totally run out of things to write about Red Molly. I think I finally nailed them last time when I said that what makes them great is not that they do anything big and showy but hit all the little things perfectly. That and being delightful people will always make a great show.

They did a few new songs. One for reasons I don't quite get reminded me of the Copper Ponies. Then came the refrain, part of which was "copper ponies." Abbie wrote the song and named the band. What reminded me of the Ponies was the harmonies, they strayed further afield than is usual for Red Molly.

After the show when counting out the merch I had a disagreement with Laurie of the meaning of many. I forgot the exact context but I said many meant over 33% She thought it meant a majority. She called me an Idiot! I called her an idiot for calling me an idiot. Fisticuffs would have ensued but I knew that Abbie knows karate and I didn't want to get my butt kicked. So instead I just consoled myself with the knowledge that if a majority is meant you say "most." Many is more than a rarity but less than a majority. 33% is a number I pulled out of hat to convey that. Just remember that I was right, Laurie wrong, and she is not only an idiot but a meanie for calling me an idiot. I'm a sweet innocent soul. Don't be too hard on Laurie. She has already suffered enough, ... she lives in Jersey City. It's what ruined her formerly sweet disposition and dulled her once sharp mind.

I enjoy saying and writing things like that far too much.

I'm going to have to write Laurie to make sure she reads this as she is a Luddite who isn't on Facebook so I can't just tag her like I will everyone else.

I enjoy using "luddite" too much too.

After the show and counting out the merch I walked with Chris to the subway. We weren't that far from my old hood and I felt nostalgic. I miss it.

I miss Red Molly too. I feel that I should never be going more than a couple of months without seeing them. That's how it used to be. Then they got all big and successful and started touring the world. They'll be playing for the platypodes soon. Yes they are going to Australia.

So who haven't I written about that I should? Coco's husband's Bruce did the sound. Andrew and Eban from Roosevelt Dime were there. That's appropriate as I met Andrew the last time Red Molly played there. I talked to Molly about not running into her this summer when we were neighbors. Craig was there. I'm running into him all over the place now.

I had two sets of plans today in opposite directions. They have both been Sandy Blasted, canceled because of the storm. School has been canceled for tomorrow, I'm going to have to run to Trader Joe's and get some food. I hope they are still open. I'll go as soon as I'm finished here.. If they aren't I'll be OK but I'd like some luxuries like po-tay-toes, the gaffer's delight. I also want the little tiny ice cream cones.

If I'm lucky nothing exciting will happen here by tomorrow so I'll try and catch up on other things then and for now say, "Farewell wherever you may fare." That's the polite thing to say among eagles. I'm in a Tolkien mood.

I almost forgot the test.

(A + B)� = _________________
(A � B)� = __________________
(A + B)(A � B) = ___________________
(A − B)� = _____________________


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 28, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!