I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 31, 2016 - 10:52 a.m.

Unlike Gilligan I Got Off the Island

I actually not only left the house I left City Island yesterday. Not that I have that much to write about. First I had to pick something up from Dan. Dan was recording yesterday in Greenpoint, that meant getting there by public transit. It wasn't that hard, a bus and three subways. It took my usual hour and a half. But the end was interesting. I had to walk across the Pulaski bridge from Long Island City to get there. Who knows what body of water The Pulaski and better known Kosciuszko Bridge cross, the one that make the Queens/Brooklyn border on that end? It's the Newtown Creek. I bet most native New Yorkers don't know that. Long Island City was the industrial heart of the New York when New York had an industrial heart. The waters are polluted. Yet there were people kayaking in it. It might be polluted but it looks beautiful. I took some pictures but I have a huge backlog of pictures to get through. I have therapy today so that gives me less time. You'll just have to take my word for it.

It was a fairly long walk. That's a good thing. I like walking. It was longer than I thought because the way the bridge is placed. I had to walk back to the start of the bridge and then once I was off it I had to turn around and go back alongside the bridge.

I had to cross the broad McGuinness Blvd. The light changed so I could cross. A truck stopped for the light, where he was supposed to, before the crosswalk. As I walked past the truck I heard something, looked to my right and saw a cyclist racing towards where my next step would be. I stopped dead and he blew past me and then stopped for the light after the crosswalk. I told him that he almost hit me. He said, "No I didn't." I guess he felt he didn't have to swerve it wasn't a near collision. He's a cycleotic. We have all seen them, the biker riders that seem totally unaware they are a hazard to pedestrians and drivers. And yes I wrote about that to introduce the word cycleotic. Start using it.

When I got to the address I started to suspect that Dan was not being honest with me. He said that The Lords of Liechtenstein were recording their new album. But from the looks of that building I suspect they are killing people and rendering their fat into soap. Not only that I'm no longer sure that Noah actually exists. He is just a delusion of Dan's. He is clearly the Brad Pitt of the duo. It's just that Dan's delusion is much stronger than Ed Norton's so other people can see and hear his imaginary brother. It's hard to get the truth because the first rule of Lords of Liechtenstein is never talk about Lords of Liechtenstein.

Why are you looking at me like that? Dan's the one with the delusion that other people can see, not me. I'm normal.

I had no food to eat in the house so my next stop was taking care of that. I was going to Trader Joe's near Union Square so I decided to walk another two blocks to KFC. They have a great $5 deal, two pieces of chicken, fries, and a drink. Then comes the best part that I always forget. They give you a chocolate chip cookie, a really good chocolate chip cookie. Yum! That's a joke as Yum is the KFC parent company.

I have no exciting stories of Trader Joe's or the commute home. I'm sure you are all crushed. No, wait, this is exciting. Trader Joe's now has sliced American Cheese Product. I guess I'll celebrate by having hameggandcheese on a bagel.

I have been planning today for a bit. I have to go to therapy and then into the City to see Sharon Goldman's release show for her new CD, KOL ISHA (A Woman's Voice) I've loved the songs I've heard her do live. I'm doing the merch so I have to get there early. So last night I checked the time. It's 7 PM … next Wednesday, September 7. Yes, I'm an idiot. But now you have time to put it on your calendar so you can go too. I'm expecting you to be there. This actually works out well as now tonight I can see Kat Quinn at the Sidewalk Café. I know it's not a lot of notice but you should go to that too. If not, no worries, she's doing a show with the Lords of Liechtenstein and Young Novelists on September 11. I'll be doing merch at that too. Don't worry I'll make sure that Dan won't kill you and render your fat into soap and Kat, Laura, and Graydon won't wear argyle sweater vests.

Now to make breakfast.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 31, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!