I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 11, 2003 - 11:20 a.m.

Wise Madness the Remake

I�ll start off by recounting my day. On Sunday I vegetated. The end. That is really sad but true. It wasn�t a good day. I did nothing and the only person I spoke to offline was my mother. I was popular on AIM, twice talking to three people at once. Today should be better, I�m playing bridge with Roy tonight. I guess I shouldn�t be proud of myself for actually remembering.

I have an idea that I really like for an entry. I just have to get up the energy to actually do it. That�s my biggest problem, getting up the energy to do things. I�m always good with coming up with ideas, not as good when it comes to executing them.

I was talking to Bad Carey the other day about some film they are remaking. I don�t remember which but we had our usual exchange when it comes to remakes.

As a rule I don�t like them. There are exceptions but I usually don�t see the point. The one exception is when it is not so much a case of remaking a film as someone else taking a shot of translating a work of literature. Hands down the greatest remake is The Maltese Falcon. John Huston�s version that we all know and love was actually the third attempt in ten years to film the novel.

Another really interesting remake is The Man Who Knew Too Much. Both the original and the remake were directed by Alfred Hitchcock. I never really understood why he did that. I love both versions but I think the original is tighter.

Here�s a good question, what books have never been made into a film that does that justice? I think my number one choice would be Crime and Punishment. It is generally considered one of the greatest books ever written and it would seem to be a natural for film. It isn�t as dense or intellectual as The Brothers Karamazov. It is the kind of story that Hollywood tells well. Colombo from the TV series was based on Porfiry, the detective in the book.

There have been many version of The Three Musketeers but they have generally been done as b movies or farces. Why? It�s a great adventure story. It would even be the start of a franchise as the book as sequels.

The Lensmen series aren�t the greatest literature but I think they�d make a great series of films. I thought the time was ripe for them back in the late seventies after Star Wars hit it big. They are the ultimate space operas.

I might write about this again as more ideas hit me.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 11, 2003
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!