I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 18, 2013 - 11:32 a.m.

Stopping on a Dime

I didn't edit the photos I took so once again I'll post without visual aids. I have a backlog of pictures to show you.

Yesterday I finally got to the post office early enough to pick up my mail. I should have had two pieces but only had one I don't know what's going on there. It was a Festivus card from Paul. It isn't late of course as Festivus runs to Lawrencemas, 1/25. Just got a little sad because that used to be another mas in addition to Lawrencemas but that person wouldn't even accept my friendship request on FB. I don't really know why. I don't think she gets honored with a mas anymore. I hate when people I was close to don't drift away but cut themselves off.

I then went to my office to see if my text book was in so I could prepare for my first class. It was! I went to send the book info to the class along with a link to where they can get it cheap online. I did that through Blackboard. when I did I saw I had another class to teach. I was told I might get another one but was never told I got it. I'm of course delighted. The book for that course was not in. It is supposed to come in today so I have to go back today to prepare for that class.

I'm going to have a three hour break between classes. That isn't good. I know when I'll be Wise Madness. I should find out if what somebody told me is true. That as faculty I get to use the facilities at the Y. then I can go swimming every day. That would rock like Slayer used to.

I went from school to further up the West Side to Music on 4, Ihor & Marishka's house concert series, to hear Roosevelt Dime. Most people would say I see them often but to me it feels like I always miss them. I know I want to see them more than I do.

I was the first person there. You can't dome up till 7 PM and I was there at 6:35 or so. Others started arriving shortly afterward. While there were some people I know from other shows there, I didn't know anyone by name till I heard Phyllis's voice behind me and saw her and Dan. People were saying it was cold but it was 41˚F, warm for a January evening. I was positively toasty with my Nepalese hat, gloves, and new winter coat.

Instead of grabbing one of the comfy sofa seats I took what's become my new seat there, next to Richard's seat. He arrived a little later. Dan and Phyllis took the couch. That just left one seat in the first row, next to mine. That went to a stranger who didn't know better than to sit next to me.

The reason I feel I don't see Roosevelt Dime enough is that I get such a kick every time I do see them. They are exciting. They play what they call steamboat soul. It harkens back to an antique sound while still being contemporary. I love music like that. It's music you want to get up and dance to. It's a jolt of energy sent straight into your body. I think it's impossible to not have a smile on your face when you listen to them.

They are my Brooklyn peeps as are Miss Tess and Bobtown. They are all instilled with the same spirit even if the music doesn't sound alike. It is the same genre, whatever that is. The Brooklyn music scene is as good as you'll find anywhere though it might be more accurate to call it scenes.

After the show I talked to the band and introduced myself to the horn section, the two guys I never talked to, Seth and Bruce. They are integral to the Roosevelt Dime sound yet somehow I over looked talking to them. The NAAHP, National Association for the Advancement of Horn Players was getting on me for that. I don't want anyone to think I'm bigoted against Horn Players. Of course they really do blow.

Once again I spent the night with my brain racing. I love that. The show was inspiring. By the time the evening was over I had a great idea for an event to promote and the germ of a theme song for it I even recorded what I had of the song so I'd remember it. If I want to pull the event off I might have to partner with someone who doesn't have an anxiety disorder. What I ideally need is s minder to keep me on track, hold my hand when I need it, and take care of routine things when I can't. I need that for my entire life. Some people call it a wife or husband. I'll take the wife.

Even though it involved taking four trains and the was stopped between stations I got home quickly.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 18, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!