I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 19, 2012 - 3:56 p.m.

Back Down the Rabbit Hole

Have you been wondering what happened to me? I fell down the rabbit hole again. That wonderful apartment that I loved in Fort Greene was an illegal sublet. The owner found out about me and evicted me. It wasn't an legal eviction but that doesn't change the reality that I'm out in the street. Once more I'm couch surfing. I'm the center of a vortex of disaster. Just to make things extra fun last night I had a nice easy subway ride to where I am staying. The train then just sat between stations for half an hour. Then came the message on the PA there was a downed tree on the line and the Q train would be running on the N line. I could have taken the train to the last stop and come back but that would have made me very late. Instead I switched to the 2 train at the next stop which left me 1.2 miles away that I had to walk in a light rain and carrying all my stuff. At least I'm resourceful and had an extra giveaway poncho on me. I had a small suitcase, a sports bag, a backpack with my laptop in it, and my NERFA totebag. I used the one piece of bungee cord I had to attach everything but the backpack to t he suitcase which I could wheel. I then put one poncho over me and the backpack and the other over the suitcase. The hood went over the handle. It looked like I was dragging a small child with me by the head. I kept expecting somebody to stop me and say, "What are you doing to that kid?"

I got evicted on Friday and have not spent two nights in a row under the same roof. Not the easiest way to live. My stuff is back in storage. A friend with van hauled it over there and helped me pack it in. I was very lucky that I ran into the one friend I have in the area and she was kind enough to ferry my stuff to her studio apartment for the night till I could get it moved.

I have looked at one apartment so far and didn't like it. I'm looking at least one more tonight. I'm going to look into renting a room by the week till I can find someplace. I found ads for weeklies but I have to make sure they are safe and not too skuzzy.

I spent Monday night with my sister Alison who invited me up for Rosh Hashanah. That meant two great meals. On Monday I grilled steaks. I'm really good at grilling steaks. I made them perfectly. Yesterday Alison made duck. She hadn't made it before and we had time pressure as I had to make a 6 PM bus back to the City. The skin didn't get crispy but it tasted fantastic. Duck is my family's favorite meal. When I get settled in I'll have to make it for Alison. Maura's friend Jeannie or is that Jeanne gave me a great recipe I've been meaning to try. I need someone else to eat it with me for motivation.

I missed seeing Barnaby Bright last night. Now you know why. I hope you realized it meant something was wrong for me to miss them. I have a lot of things to do coming up. I need someplace stable to stay. There's the WFUV pledge drive, Lena is visiting, and lots of concerts.

Now I have to get back to apartment hunting. Wish me luck. Oh and if you know anyone going out of town that wants to sublet let me know. Brooklyn is my first choice but I'm flexible. Well OK not that flexible. Did I mention that I threw my back out last night carrying the backpack and dragging the luggage? That reminds me I have to buy acetaminophen. I also have to buy breathing strips. I wake up every night because my nose gets totally clogged. Being an itinerant math teacher isn't easy.

I'm out of practice. I forgot to actually post this.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 19, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!