I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 22, 2015 - 12:22 p.m.

Potpourri

For one of the only times in the last 20 years I woke up and did not turn on WFUV. I turn that on to listen if I'm heading right out, I listen while I get dressed, or if I'm staying in for a while. But they changed the programming and the Irish shows are gone from Saturday mornings. That is where I got my Irish language and music education. It's why I can pronounce Aoife right. It was always a special day to volunteer and take pledges. But no more. They have marginalized their old listeners so much they have put all the music that they would have played 20 years ago on Sundays. What gets me is that there's a second online stream of the same sort of music they play on the air. That's two streams playing the same music and none playing what I love. I still listen on weekday mornings because I play the Question of the Day.

I was bad yesterday. I had to concerts I wanted to go to and went to neither. So once again I never left the house. That's not good for my mental health. I didn't talk to anyone either. Of course that's what happens most days. So today I'm going to travel over an hour and a half to go to a party in Dobbs Ferry where I might know just one person.

I just realized that one of my Facebook friends is not who I thought it was. I looked at her picture and have no idea who she is. Now you are wondering if it's you. It probably isn't.

For the first time ever I have registered for NERFA, gotten a room, and found a roommate, all before October. This might actually be the first time I've gotten them all done before November. The roommate is usually the hardest part for me. I've had to be added on to somebody else's room or added someone to mine the last minute every year. This year John responded to my annual Facebook plea for a roommate.

Here's the problem I'm having writing today. Every topic that comes to me leads to thoughts that make me sad or anxious. I don't want to be sad or anxious this morning.

OK. Here's two good things. I haven't talked about my fantasy baseball team, The Nashional Batnoses in a long time. There's a reason for that. We started off the season great then collapse in late May and through June. We went from first place to the middle of the pack. At our nadir we had less than 50 pts, average is 52. Then we started surging. Our hitters started hitting. The pitchers turned around. Yes our second or third best player has been injured but we surged. So now we are in the hunt.

OK the Conventional Warheads are way out in front and it will be very hard to catch them but I bet we pass The Master Batters and end up in second. What I like is that even though I did almost no prep I was flexible. My usual strategy is to spend a lot of money on top starting pitchers as there aren't that many you can rely on. But I was able to find some bargains that I thought were good enough and I was right. So I spent on a top reliever, Greg Holland, and spent more on hitters. Too bad most of those hitters I spent the most on ended up injured. But we're doing fine and I'm enjoying following the team. Looking at the scores is something I look forward to ever year.

On a similar vein thanks to Falcon Ridge my readership has gone up a lot. I write to satisfy inner needs but it doesn't work if My Gentle Readers aren't there. The experience is not just writing but also being read.

And I made myself a real dinner again, a burger and fried plantains. Yes I fried the plantains again. That's a sign that I'm unhappy and need something to cheer me up. Fried plantains are so good.

I stated watching Birdman last night. Part of the problem with watching at home on my computer is that I can interrupt my viewing. In a theater you are immersed in the film, you aren't at home. It's not as good. I'm enjoying it. There are elements that are great. But there are also times I feel the director is showing off. The film has no cuts, one the scene shifts the camera films as it moves to the next one. That’s both intriguing and decadent. I'm not sure if it's done for a reason or to just show he can do it. Did he just see the classic Copacabana scene from Goodfellas and decided to make an entire film like that? That's the kind of thing where seeing it in a theater might change how it affects me.

OK this sucks. I've been listening to Mountain Stage from their website and it's not the actual program. It's a "best of." I will not be able to hear when people I love are on the show. It of course emphases the stars and I want to hear my friends.

OK I give up. I'm not going to get further with this. The things I have on my mind I can't write about so I'll stop writing for today.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 22, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!