I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 11, 2012 - 6:27 p.m.

A little bit of this and a little bit of that

I have to wait in my office for some friends. I could use the time grading the test I just gave but of course that isn't as important as serving the blogging needs of My Gentle Reader.

I haven't grumbled about class for a bit. Last week I did a very simple question on the board. Anyone should have been able to just read the answer off a graph I drew. I wanted everyone to see that, so I told them to not say a word and write down the answer. I saw people weren't writing so I said, "Everyone write it down and I'm going to check. If you haven't I'm going to treat it as getting two quiz questions wrong. All the students had to do was see the coordinates of a point that I wrote out explicitly and use definitions that were written on the board. I went over to check and the first person didn't do it. He just had to write the number 1; he chose not to, even though he was told his grade would suffer. What is going on in his head? He is the same student that always gives me trouble. He seems to find it obligatory to not follow directions. He seems to have some sort of visceral antagonism towards authority though he shows nothing in his affect. I tried talking to him about it and he just says he doesn't do it. I guess that isn't surprising.

Today was the last review before the final. The class still hasn't memorized the things I told them to memorize the first week. What do you think they are waiting for?

Now what should I write about? What's in the hopper? I know I had something. One thing is the revival of sorts of the British Empire but that's politics and I did politics last time. I could talk more about the rabbit hole but I don't think I'm ready for that yet. OK what did I want to tell you that Carey said? It wasn't that I could marry Vanessa Doofenshmirtz on the condition that I don't marry Isabella Garcia-Shapiro because that's a secret that you can never find out. We had some brilliant idea. Oh well that's gone, Well we did decide that we are going to split the multiple six figure income somebody told me would be an unbearable hardship to live on. Sure that person would be miserable but as it's already unbearable he won't be more miserable and the two of us would be ecstatic to have half of us. In fact we'll even share it with somebody else. Then three people can be happy and only one unhappy instead of four of us unhappy.

I was thinking about something I often think about and have written about. How did I get to be the popular kid? I had pretty much zero friends in HS. In college things got better and I had my circle of friends. Then friends started disappearing and I went back to being lonely most of the time. Now I have a zillion friends. So here is the question. It's related to the "It's not you it's me" edition of Wise Madness. What changed? Is it me or did I simply find social settings with people that don't' look at me like a freak with only one head and no cloaca? I'm not complaining of course. I love the people at WFUV and the music world that accept me. I just wonder why. And that isnt' putting myself down. I have a ton of problems. Some pretty severe but overall I like myself. I'd like to be my friend. I just can't believe anyone else's taste is that weird.

Notice that's always the kind of thing I'm interested in. what's in my head, what's in other people's heads.

I'll keep this a short and rambling edition. Maybe I'll write about my Fantasy Baseball team soon. Anyone interested in that? I didn't think so. Nope, I'm going to have to face the rabbit hole again. Maybe this weekend.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 11, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!