I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 18, 2013 - 2:21 p.m.

Nixon's the One

Today is not just Monday, it is Monday with a vengeance. The Mondaycity rating is designed to be between 0 and 100 under normal conditions but can occasionally go beyond those bounds. I calculated today's, 107. To generate such a high number requires a combination of personal and external elements. Today's Question of the day fittingly enough was "Monday Songs." I could not think of any that weren't ancient and obvious so I went with "I Don't Like Mondays" and the day showed it felt the same way about me.

I always check the weather via Weatherbug so I know how to dress. I don�t turn my computer off at night so it's there from the day before. It was behind the other windows. I had several sets of error messages; The stupidest error messages. Two boxes come up saying there was an error running scripts, one says click yes if you want to continue running scripts and other says click yes if you want to stop running scripts. So you have to click no to the first and yes to the second. I did that got to the program and clicked the forecast and it said 100% chance of rain. So I put on my trench coat and Irish hat and headed out. I got to the subway and down to the platform and realized I left my phone at home. I don't have a watch now so I need it. I went back home. It was bright and sunny and I started to doubt Weatherbug. When I got home I checked it on my phone and it said Bright and Sunny all day. I must have been looking at an earlier forecast because of the script error. I got back to the subway and was about 15 minutes behind my normal schedule. As I got to school most days a half an hour early that's not so bad. Then a passenger got sick at DeKkalb on the train in front of mine and that ate up more time. Then we got held up by the dispatcher after Dekalb. Do I got to school at 9:30. Class starts at 9:30 though I actually start it at 9:35. That meant no breakfast. I did grab coffee. I went in to the snack bar and there was nobody behind the counter. I said, "hi" to someone working there and he ignored me. Finally the woman that normally takes my order came in from another room and took my order. I got to class late of course and couldn't print out the things I needed and I was hungry and not caffeinated.

I proceeded to make numerous errors in class. It was such a Monday. Half the class was late. Now I've eaten let's see if things go better. One thing that didn't was that the teacher who was in the office when I got in after class didn't log off her computer. Good thing I caught it before it went into screen saver so I could log out. Otherwise the computer would need a hard reboot. It isn't my computer but I feel I always like to make sure everything runs smoothly for everyone else.

Now to more pleasant things; yesterday I ventured out to Merrick to see my boys, Pesky J. Nixon, at Gene & Isabel's house. I couldn't get traction in the morning and missed my train by 2 minutes. I took advantage of having to wait an hour for the next train and went to Juniors to get a cheese cake. I knew that would be a hit at the pot luck.

I called Isabel and told her to save me a seat. Jeremiah was sitting in with PJN and as it got close to the start time of 3 PM, "Are we waiting to start for Gordon?" The answer was yes. You really can't get much more home game for me than Pesky Jeremiah Nixon (what did you think the J stood for Jason Varitek?) at Gene and Isabel's. The audience's size was disappointing and I don't get it. Here is a band playing that are superstars at Falcon Ridge and NERFA. Everybody in the new ork acoustic music world knows and loves Jeremiah. Nobody hosts a better house concert than Gene & Isabel. And I'm not saying that because they are my friends. They are my friends partially from going to their house concerts. They are the platonic ideal of a house concert, people socializing at a pot luck before the show and during the intermission with great bands in an extremely comfortable space. No formalities. No "You can't come in a second before we announced the doors," no treating it as a business. It's people who love music getting together with other people that love music. So where were you? We all know why Lori not LORi wasn't there (she hates me) but where was everybody else? It's just a short work from the LIRR. Yet the only peole I knew that weren't family were Rona, Bob, and Chris, and they are pretty much family. You are going to need a written excuse if you miss their next show with We're About 9.

None of which stopped the show from being fantastic. As it was a crowd that knew them well P. Jeremiah Nixon pulled out the rarities. They did songs that I don't know. They did songs that Jeremiah didn't know. I'm not sure that Ethan, Jake, and Dan knew them. Jeremiah asked for a set list. Ethan just laughed. He doesn't even announce the songs. The other guys are supposed to pick it up from the banter or the first few chords on the guitar. The best was at the start when he told some long involved story, I think about NERFA and without missing a beat said, "this is a song about a hanging." At least that was enough for even me to pick up meant "John Brown." That became the running joke of the night.

Under normal conditions I heckle P. J. Nixon, under normal conditions I heckle Jeremiah. When they play together somebody needs to apply duck (that is not a typo) tape to my mouth. Dan said, "The drummer never gets any respect" and I quipped, "Why should he?" Why I have any friends is a mystery.

Pesky J. N are fun and lighthearted but I can find myself tearing up at their shows. I always do when they play "Talk About Heaven." And that's with singing along at the top of my lungs. Sorry everybody within hearing range of me. What was the other song I teared up to? Was it "Wagon Wheel?" Yes that it. Sure it is the Freebird of the NERFAverse. But not only is it a great song but it twice had a big emotional impact on me the two years and it's now imprinted in my brain. The first time I was at my nadir, soon after being evicted. I was walking back to the friends I was crashing with. I walked slower and slower and came to a full stop and lacked the will to take another step. What was the point? But I had my mp3 player on, Red Ducks by those Pesky guys. "Wagon Wheel" came on and I found myself singing along. And then I found myself walking again, the striding. And I sang out loud, I hate when people do that with earbuds in. I think they are nuts. Well I was nuts. But I was a nut who felt like he had a reason to go on. Too bad that train I had just gotten off was Eastbound not South. The second time was this year at Falcon Ridge. I started in almost the opposite state. Iw as in the The Budgiedome, the closest thing I have to a home now. My girls, Bobtown (yes Fred and Alan are my girls) were setting up to go on. There was no audience. It was just the Budgiedome family. Emily said that their daughter's favorite song was "Wagon Wheel" so Bobtown did it for her. It's exactly what Falcon Ridge is about.

Those are two events I'll never forget, Yes one was listening to a cheap mp3 player and the other was an impromptu song that the band doesn't normally play in a non-performance situation but they affected me as much as any music I have ever heard. That's saying something. So now I tear up at "Wagon Wheel." I am not ashamed.

The show ended just as the train was leaving. The next was in an hour. But Gene checked when the next train from Freeport was, that was sooner, and he drive, Jeremiah, Pam, and me to the station. I got to ride most of the way home with friends. I switched in Jamaica to the train to Brooklyn.

I'm out of my second class. I actually let them out quite early. For some reason have of them were missing today. We went very fast and I covered all the material I had planned on and didn't want to overload them. Now I can make up a quiz for next class before therapy.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 18, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!