I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 22, 2013 - 12:39 p.m.

Great Day for a Concert, Let's Play Two!

Late start writing and I have a lot to write about. I had a busy day, a musical doubleheaded.

As has been going on for days now I did not get out early enough to go shopping. I have no OJ, no butter, only sliced white bread, and not much milk left. Breakfast will be interesting I'm going to be making myself hot coffee for the first time in ages. But that's getting ahead of myself. I find food distracting.

My first stop was Madison Square Park to see Pesky J. Nixon and Martha Redbone. I was marching for my Pesky boys. Since Kara became an official part of the band they aren't all boys. I probably should find another way to refer to them.

This was another home game. Not only is Pesky my boys *sorry Kara not changing) but the series is run by my my friend Maggi and I unofficially part of the official crew. I have the most important thing, a pass that lets me use the secret bathroom under Shake Shack.

I had work to do before the show. I had to get $5 bills to use to make change . I should know where there's a branch of my bank nearby but I don�t OK now I remember and it's too late. It's only a seven minute walk away too. I twice had geographic disconnects yesterday. That's not like me. I'll get to the other one later. Back to my story. For some reason the app to find a branch on my phone wouldn't work. I finally got up the nerve to just ask at Shake Shack. They were nice and there was no problem. I'll know next time I do merch at the park to go there if I have to.

Instead of sitting up front I sat in the Merch Booth off to the side. I shared the space with the woman who represented the Park, Bertie and the guy from WfUV, what was his name? Oh, right that was me. During the course of the day people said "you" to me and meant Pesky J, the Park, WFUV, and Martha. I had lots of 'splaining to do.

I was a bit surprised I had only two friends at the show, both musicians, Scott and Kirk. They joined Team Pesky as photographers. At least Scott did. Kirk might have just used his own camera. He took this one of me.


I took the camera from Scott so I could take some pics from behind the stage. But for the most part I stayed in my booth. I did get one shot on my phone.

From Pesky at Mad Square
I spent most of my time in the booth. There's an advantage to that, I could dance and nobody saw me. Have I told you how much I love Pesky J? I think I have. They can always reach into my heart and move me. I had to describe them to people before thes how or to people that arrived after their set. What I came up with is folk music with roots in a capella. That gets to the importance of the lyrics, the instrumentation, and the a capella describes their harmonies.

Good thing I stayed in the booth, people came by to buy CDS during the set. that happens in a setting like that. People stumble on the music when they come to the park and they might not stay to the end.

Martha was great and I wish I could have devote my full attention to her but I was busy answering questions from the public and schmoozing with my friend.

My plan was to then go to Trader Joe's and that's where the second geographic disconnect came in. Instead of walking to the one in Chelsea four blocks away I walked down to the one by Union Square. Not only is that further it is always busier there. When I got there the line was so long I knew I wouldn't have time to shop. So I headed home. When I got there I didn't have much time. the only reason I needed to home as I had no perishables to put in the fridge was to get my umbrella. That proved to be a good decision. Then I headed out to Red Hook for a house concert. with Brittany Haas, Jordan Tice, and Paul Kowert. I always want to call Paul, Peter. I have to drill that name into my head.

The one I know best is Brittany. I saw them at the Jenkins Family house concert earlier this summer. I pretty much started and ended the summer with them. I had never been to the House of Love Concerts before. I had an address but none of the homes on the block had a visible address. I saw an open door with what sounded like a party inside and figured that was it. When I walked in I scanned the room for Brittany and didn't see her but I did see Alex! He is one of the people I can't be surprised to see at this kind of thing. He was joined by his girlfriend Sammi, and his bandmates Sara and and and and the one with who my conversation is always, "Hi I know you, we've met right?" the Stephanies were also there. I need a special plural for Stephanie, Stephani or Stephanae would work. They are both fiddlers (fiddleri?). I was at two concerts and every person that I knew in the audience was a musician. I think that says something about my musical taste. Or perhaps my lack of social skills.

The opening act was Emily Mure. She's a classically trained musician that plays folk music. She was joined by a cello player, I just know his first name Eric, who never played with her before.

Wow it's getting late. I better finish this.

I love Brittany, Jordan, and Paul as much as I love any band. They too played classically based folk. It strikes me as folk chamber music. It is brilliant. It takes and effort to keep my eyes open when they play, not because they put me to sleep, but because their music creates imagery in my head. When they play I am not on earth but a magical world. Do you get the idea that they are special? I must despise a world that doesn't know that Brittany, Jordan, and Paul are greater musicians than 99% of the ones you'll hear on radio or TV.

There's so much more that I wanted to write about but I have to get moving. Maybe I'll be able to throw it in another day. Now I have to make breakfast.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 22, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!