I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 27, 2013 - 12:05 p.m.

Picture Time

I sometimes don't decide what I'm going to write till after I start writing. I wrote that last sentence well over an hour ago. Since then I've been editing pictures, so I guess I really should post some pictures. Before I forget, how come when I take a picture as I'm checking in, not before I checked in, it timestamps the photo as 2002, well before the phone was made? I had to figure out how to change the time stamp. Pretty easy actually, you can do it with Windows Explorer except I can't seem to be able to edit the time. It makes it the non-existent time of 12 PM. 12 is either noon or midnight. It can't be AM or PM as that means before or after noon. Noon is neither.

Before any of that a few more words on Das Rheingold because there was more in my head than could fit in one entry. Well OK I just forgot about stuff. The storyline is that Wotan (Odin in Norse) made a deal with two giants that they'd build him the castle Valhalla and in return he'd give them the goddess Freia. Loge (Loki) assured him that he'd never have to pay up that he'd think of something, What he thinks of is offering the Giants the hoard of the Nibelung instead. There is actually some confusion as when the deal is made it is the ring but when they go to pay it seems to be that they promised the hoard, enough to cover Freia. They steal the ring and the heard from Albrecht the Nibelung who curses it and try to withhold the ring from the Giants but the hoard doesn't cover her eyes and to fill the gap they had to use the ring. So this is really the ultimate New York Story, it's about real estate. The Gods make a deal with contractors and hires a lawyer to screw the contractors while the contractors try to screw the gods. In the end everyone loses but the building goes up and the consequences go on for years.

I also wanted to talk about What's Opera Doc but I'll save that for a slow day.

Last night I had nothing planned. I have been so busy that I thought I'd take it easy. But then Katherine invited me to hear music at the Roots Caf� near her house. It wasn't music I was excited about but it was something that I need more of, someone making plans for the purpose of seeing me, and me doing something for the purpose of seeing a friend. The music did not excite me. I always write enthusiastically about what I hear because I usually only see music I love. The reality is that most music leaves me cold. By it's very definition most things are mediocre. I don't like mediocre. There's enough out that that even if only 1% is works of genius that's more than anyone has time to see. And that's what was lacking, genius. Now I know others like the headliner quite a bit but I don't see it. I see craft but not art.

I did manage to get an amazing picture of the opener, Emily Drinker.

Doesn't she look like something out of a Botticelli painting. Doesn't it look like a painting?

She sounded a bit like Raina Rose and I think looks a bit like Raina Rose. I wasn't excited but I enjoyed her set.

I'd have liked to have stayed longer after the show but I was too tired and had to make my bus which was almost a mile away. Google Maps did a great job with the bus time. I got home exactly when it said I would.

OK here are some more pics that I took to show you that somehow never got posted.

Google + is totally evil. Google must know how horrible it is as they are forcing me to use it instead of the vastly superior Picasa for my photos, It used to be I set my privacy default for my pictures as public and every time I uploaded that was the privacy unless I said otherwise, Then it switched to the default was private, me only, because we all know how often we post pictures online only for ourselves instead of just looking at them on our computer. But still it was easy to change them to public with the picasa software. Now you can't even do that. And to make things worse you can't even get to the picasaweb version of the album where you can change these things easily. You get redirected to the horrible google+. What happened to the Google creed of not being evil? This is pure evil. I want to get rid of my Google + account but now there seems to be no way to do it, If there is they hide it. I found it! I deleted the account! I can once again set the privacy from my picasa program! I can get to the picasa web albums from my picasa program. There is absolutely no downside as Google+ is useless. Now I can show you pictures without making a huge effort.


The Alison Scola Project

Someone told me they saw this tiny car that looked like a toy and wasn't a smart car and didn�t know what it was. I bet it was this fiat,. Have you seen one?

Here's a slideshow from the WfUV pledge drive.



I saw these guys in Central Park



Here are the other pics from the park.

It's noon, not 12 PM. I want to go to the Brooklyn Botanic (not Botanical) Garden for the Cherry Blossom Festival so I better get going.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 27, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!