I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 10, 2013 - 1:45 p.m.

Pictures of the New Year

I fought off the chronoklepts and I'm ready to write. I'll start by saying that I'm still unhappy. Maybe I'll fight it off today. I should go out in the snow today even if I'm alone. I love snow If you want to join me that would be even better. I think I'll go through Prospect Park. I hope I can get myself to do that. If not I'll enjoy going to see Jean Rohe tonight. She said we'd have a snowball fight afterward. I don't think we'll be able to do that near Rockwood.

I had nothing planned for last night then saw that Hazmat Modine was playing. I was all set to go and then the chronoklepts hit and self doubt about going out by myself and I ended up leaving too late. That was ridiculous I love them and hardly ever see them. It was just too far out of my comfort zone. I wouldn't know anyone they are outside my usual musical circles. I didn't know the venue, Terra Blues and to make it worse their website was terrible. I had no idea what it would cost. I asked Wade on Facebook and he said he thought admission was around $15 but I didn't know if there was a minimum. The website was totally useless. Saying "The admission charge varies widely" and not giving it for particular shows is beyond useless. So by the time I got my mind set on going to was cutting it close. I realized on the subway I'd be too late. So I did what I often do, drown my sorrows in food. I went to Pomme Frites and that was good. Then I went for dessert and a new dessert bar on St Marks. So why was I the only non-Asian there? It wasn't Asian desserts. I had a hot chocolate and a peanut butter cookie. Neither was anything to write home about. Connecticut Muffin is better.

Last night I took my last planned prednisone I've been tapering off the last three weeks. Unfortunately I discovered that my dermatitis has come back, the prednisone suppressed it. I might have to stick to 5 mg a day. My plan is to take one pill every time I get too itchy.

I planned on reading when I got home but of course I didn't.

This morning I had stada that Elrond made for breakfast and listened to John Platt. I fell asleep a few times but still got to catch him playing friends, Deni Bonet and Nels Andrews. I felt I should know who his guest was and I should have. it was Rebecca Pronksy. She is not just a friend but I saw her at the station the day the interview was recorded. It isn't easy not having a brain., Rebecca keeps growing on me musically and personally. John is one of the very best interviewers out there and allows the artist to reveal themselves rather than their PR package.

This is how I know I'm unhappy not depressed. I can still appreciate things and feel happy while I'm doing it.

The problems with Picasa are cleared up so now I can get around to showing you a month's backlog of pictures.

So let's travel back to those distant days of yore, last month, when I saw Roosevelt Dime at Music on 4. Somebody thought that they would look good in hats and Ihor provided them. What do you think? Good look?

Next up the Snake Oil Revue 2.


Mamie Minch


M. Shanghai


Spuyten Duyvil

Kat Quinn at the Museum of American Folk Art.

We're About 9 and Pesky J. Nixon at the Garden Stage.


We're About 9


WA9 joined by PJN


Pesky J. Nixon


PJN joined by WA9


Grand Finale

Now you can see what I've been up to.

I'm going to keep this short. I'll finish with another video of a favorite poem, Ozymandias. It's a nice follow up to ,Kublai Khan. Does everyone associate the two poems or just me?



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 10, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!