I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 04, 2010 - 11:06 a.m.

Phrosty Phriends

I love writing Wise Madness as much be obvious as I get no compensation for it yet I've written thousands of entries over the years. Yet every day I still have to force myself to actually start writing it. At some point in the process things start to flow and it becomes easier. I haven't hit that point in this entry yet. I'm still not sure what I'm writing about. That is why my usual format is to start writing about my day then to move into philosophical meanderings. The easiest thing to write about is what has happened to me.

Yesterday I was looking forward to going to school and seeing the reaction of my students to shaving my beard off. As I said in my last entry nobody noticed in my early class. Nobody noticed the rest of the day either. What is the point of being a teacher if you can't make your students' heads explode?

Today is apparently national teacher's day and the question of the day on WFUV Morning was go come up with teacher songs. I sent in The Creature was a Teacher by the Snacks, the Kennedys name when doing children's songs. Too late did my mind expand enough to think of a song about a professor. Do you know which one I wanted them to play? It's Math Prof Rock Star aka My Song, by Jim's Big Ego. It isn't easy not having a brain. I can't figure out how to post it here but follow the link and listen to the song; Math Prof Rock Star

Have I mentioned that I have the coolest friends in the world? No offense, I am sure your friends are cool too. If you are reading this some of my friends are your friends too. Still, mine are cooler. It's just a fact. Deal with it. Look on the bright side, you are one of my cool friends.

What brought this on is that Pam just wrote to me. Pam is studying opera in Canberra Australia. Now Pam is from Tasmania which of course is cool in and of itself. Real people don't come from Tasmania, Tasmanian Devils come from Tasmania. Still that is not why I'm writing about her. She is singing in a concert of new music and one of the songs is in Elvish! She sent me the music and lyrics. They are actually in Quenya, the high Elven tongue, even cooler than Sindarin.

She of course isn't my only cool friend, she isn't even my only friend that is an opera singer. Emilie has not sung in Elvish but she has used two of the presents I have given her as props in operas, a Rubik's cube and a toy Godzilla. We think that all operas can be improved by having a Godzilla ex machina appear and eat annoying characters.

Carey's once again demonstrated her coolness. On May 1 she had to perform at a fundraiser for her school and wanted to perform Jonathan Coulton's First of May but couldn't. For those of you not familiar with the song it is about performing a certain pleasurable act normally done in a bed outdoors. He uses a frowned upon Anglo-Saxon word for the act. So Carey wrote a filk using the melody and lyric structure. I sent it to JoCo and he was "honored and appalled." Carey appalled JoCo, now that's cool.

How did Paul and Storm get cool enough to do shows with Adam Savage of Mythbusters? As much as I tease them I have to admit, that's cool.

Dickson was Tom Hanks's roommate when they were both struggling actors. That's not what's cool though. What's cool is that Dickson also played Goofy in a touring Disney troupe. Did you know that Goofy isn't a dog? Damn, I forgot the corporate description of what he actually is.

Lori not LORi was a Met's ballgirl. How cool is that?

Still David has to win the cool contest. He wrote a song for Kermit. You can't beat Muppets.

Damn, I forgot that I'm trying to make phrosty the cool word for cool. I'm too lazy but you go back and replace cool with phrosty wherever it occurs.

If I didn't mention you it doesn't mean that I don't think you are cool. It means that I don�t have a brain. I do have an entry that ended up writing itself. Now I can make breakfast and get to my grading.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 04, 2010
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!