I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 09, 2004 - 5:11 p.m.

Phase Changes

Yesterday's experiment seemed to be a success. I think I'll do another edition of the Horvendile Inquirer. I just have to wait for more stories, I can't just make that stuff up you know.

One of my mother's oldest friends died yesterday, she's known him since she was 18, she's 86 now. I've known him my whole life of course. I'm taking her to the funeral on Sunday.

Last night I went to the Knick game. A few days ago the Knicks made a huge trade. They traded some second rate players and draft pics for perennial All-Star Stephan Marbury. On the surface that sounds like a good trade but it was actually awful. Unlike most of the complaints I make when my teams acquire players I actually think Marbury is good. The problem is that he isn't good enough to make the team into a winner and thanks to the salary cap rules and them trading their top draft picks the next two years they have zero ability to get better. What the trade does is let the Knicks get mediocre while eliminating the possibility of them being good. Can you tell I'm frustrated?

I am actually going to remember to say what celebrities were at the game. Yesterday the biggies were JayZ (I actually never heard of him but everyone around me knew), Beyonce (not only do I know who she is but Leah told me I spelled her name right), and Mayor Bloomberg. Bloomberg just did his version of the Marbury trade, he wants to give a property tax rebate. Getting money always sounds good but the city can't pay its bills as it is.

Back to the game. More important than it being Marbury's first home game with the Knicks it marked the return of former Knick Coach Jeff Van Gundy and his assistant coach Patrick Ewing. Van Gundy was an very popular coach and it has been all down hill since he left. Ewing is perhaps the greatest Knick of all time. They got ovations, I stood for both.

The less said about the actual game the better. The Knicks got killed.


Now for something completely different. First a physics lesson. Please don't run away, it will be short and painless and I need it to make a point. Everyone learns in school that if you cool water to below 0�C (32�F) it freezes. What they don�t teach you is that under some circumstances that is not true. If the water is very pure and contains few particles of any sort and you cool it slowly it can stay liquid at lower temperatures. It is called supercooling. If you disturb supercooled water it will almost instantly turn into a slush. Something similar can happen to solutions, for instance you can add more water vapor to air that is already saturated and it won't immediately condense. If you then disturb it a fog will form instantly. These instant phase changes are quite dramatic. Some people's personalities work the same way. You don't see it while it is building up but they become supersaturated, then something triggers the phase change. When that happens their behavior changes instantly. I have some friends that I've seen it happen to fairly often. In others it is rarer. It happens to me too but most of you haven't seen me like that. I did it at FRFF a few years ago. It wasn't a pretty site. .

When I see that happen to someone else I usually just wait for it to pass. It generally doesn't affect the way I think about the person. It is so obviously not the person's normal state. I had one friend who did it far more often than anyone else I know. She would also get violent. I finally had to give up on her. What made it really bad is that she wouldn't admit she was wrong when she got back to normal. If the incidence came up she'd attack what I did that triggered and act as if her violent response was justified. What made it worse is that I knew one thing that caused the supersaturation in her, it was intimacy. Our being proved to be the prelude to the storm. That was too much pressure for me to put up with. I try to have nothing to do with her now. She wrote to me the other day about and it made me all tense. Writing this is part of my coping mechanism.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 09, 2004
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!