I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 22, 2016 - 10:53 a.m.

PB or Not PB That is the Question

Hey I'm starting to write this before 10 AM. My goal is before 9:30 but I'll take it. I opened word and starting typing shortly after 9:00 then deleted everything I wrote and I'm just now starting to write again. I didn't do anything interesting yesterday, that always makes it more difficult to write. Do you want to hear the exciting tale of going to Trader Joe's? I could have shopped around here even though I don't like the local supermarkets. I save quite a bit of money at Joe's but not enough to make up for having to pay for the subway. But I do gain getting out of the house and better quality too. I should talk about their peanut butter. I like the organic best, not because it's organic but because it's made from Valencia peanuts. When that was not organic it was still the best. In fact, it was better as it was cheaper. It is cheap for organic and all natural but still a buck more than the natural not organic so I was getting that. Now to save money I'm buying the no stir. It's pretty good and tastes different than any others. If I'm at Stop & Shop I get the Skippy which is the same price $2. Give the Trader Joe's a shot. When it comes to peanut butter I'm the guy you want to talk to. You think I go to a lot of concerts? That's nothing like my peanut butter experience. I do not think there's been a year of my life I didn't eat it half the days of a year. My guess is I average about 200 days a year. Sometimes closer to 365. I put it on things most people don't, like omelets and matzo brei. Pesach is coming up, just put a little on one piece of matzo brei and see if you love it. If you do let me know. The matzo is the bread of our affliction and the peanut butter reminds us of the wonderful manna. In fact, I am sure that manna was peanut butter. I bet the garden of Eden had peanut butter all over the place. Eve probably just wanted to see what it was like on an apple. The Torah is mistranslated, Israel was the land flowing with milk and peanut butter.

As you can see I feel very strongly about peanut butter. I have a thing for cashew butter too. No crunchy of course. When I was a kid I didn't like it. As an adult I developed a taste for it but then as my Crohn's disease progressed I ceased being able to eat it. The chunks get caught in the constrictions of my small intestines.

I love the peanut butter you find yourself like they have at whole foods. The first place I saw that was GNC. That was the only thing I'd ever think of buying there. I bet they haven't sold it close to 40 years. I think I was a teenager when one opened "On Springfield." I might have been in my 20s. Every once in a while Whole Foods has something special, they put chocolate chips in with the peanuts in the grinder. If you see that jump at the chance. Chocolate is divine. Peanut butter is divine. You combine them you get the god that gods worship.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! I was about to write about the Peanut Butter & Co. store on Sullivan Street. I went to their website to get the address and found this,


It's so sad. You could order the Elvis there, peanut butter, honey, and banana there. I would always go for the add bacon option. They had amazing peanut butter desserts. This is a tragedy that will take me quite some time to get over. Give me a moment to mourn.

I haven't been to Friendly's in ages do they still have the Reece's Pieces Sunday? That was wonderful. It's another variation on peanut butter and chocolate. Peanut butter sauce and hot fudge is so good. When I make a sundae at home I always melt peanut butter and pour it over it.

More sadness, looks like Crif Dog no longer has the peanut butter hot dogs on the menu. I'll just have to make that at home. Wrapped in bacon it's even better.

Peanut butter with bacon is someone known, I just heard a spot on WUMB where an alum at UMASS Boston said that her first peanut butter and bacon sandwich was at the school. More people need to try it with sausage. I recommend putting it on a bagel. Of all the bread based peanut butter delivery systems, a hot salt bagel is probably the best. Don't be afraid to try it on anything though, it's great on croissants, chocolate brownies, duh, Oreos, and whoopie pies.

I love peanut butter straight out of the jar but it doesn't love me. The problem is that I eat half the jar and that triggers a reaction I don't get when eating it in most other forms, it runs right through my digestive system. The only other delivery system that does that to me is another favorite, peanut butter filled pretzels. It isn't nearly as bad if I put it on a pretzel. I think it's because that requires work so I eat less. Oh it's good on potato chips too. It's hard to apply if the peanut butter isn't melted but you can put the chips on a peanut butter sandwich.

When I was a little kid, I'm sure it was 1965 when the TV show premiered, my mother bought Batman Peanut Butter. It was my favorite show but even as a kid I was suspect of marketing like that. Then I tried it and it was the best peanut butter I ever had. What I loved was how creamy it was. I bet I wouldn't like it now. I bet it was filled with things that aren't peanuts to make it so smooth. It was never in the store again but I would talk about it with my mother for years. I remember it 51 years later

This was supposed to be an entry about the people on US currency, Hamilton, Jackson, Tubman, Marion Anderson, and others that I might like to be on currency. But somehow peanut butter took it over. And yet I'm not going to eat it now. I had too much yesterday, straight out of the jar. I want the jar to last. Tomorrow I'll have it on my matzoh brei. And OK I'll weaken and have some later today too.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 22, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!