I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 21, 2012 - 4:24 p.m.

The Passion of the Christ Horvendile Friends

I'm getting a very late start writing today. Not quite sure where the day went. That's not unusual for me of course. Chronoklepts love me.

Know what I did yesterday? Nothing! OK I went to Trader Joe's but that's it. It was the only time I left my apartment. Sometimes I need a day off. I'm going to be very busy the next week or so. It was nice and restful but means it means I won't have a lot to write about it.

I had a new variant of my soups for dinner. I substituted a farmer's market potato for the plantain so it became a andouille sausage, garlic, and potato soup with jerk seasoning in beef broth. It still came out delicious. You pretty much can't go wrong mixing quality ingredients.

When I was at Trader Joe's I bought quinoa. I've been curious about it since I first read about it. Now I have to figure out how to prepare it. I'm thinking of using it in the soups instead of the potato or plantain. How do you think it would be preparing it with peanut butter? I bet garlic would go well with it. I'll experiment.

This morning when I went to make breakfast I discovered that I had no water. I wasn't told it was going to be shut off. I didn't know how long it would be off. I decided to make breakfast anyway and just skip the coffee. Good thing I didn't need to wash anything as I went along. The water's back now and I'm drinking my coffee.

Sticking to food for a bit I saw looking at old editions of Wise Madness that I weighed 163 just five years ago. I didn't believe that. I thought it had been closer to ten since I was that thin. I have been making a mild effort to lose weight. I know that some of you are looking at what I ate and trying to reconcile that weight loss. For me the key to losing weight is not snacking between meals. I stopped buying snack food, especially the kinds without controlled portions. If I buy a bag of chips I know it will be gone within 48 hours. I can resist anything but temptation. Once I start I can't stop. I do have chocolate croissants in the house but I have to remember to leave it out the night before to rise and that stops me from doing that too often. I have ice cream which I sve for the hot days. What I have been buying is fruit and fruit products. I have bananas, clementines, apple sauce, and fig butter. I can't eat raw whole apples or figs. I wonder if I'm losing weight. I lost 5-7 lbs in the months before I got this apartment.

My taste in food is a bit unusual; I don't like rice or pasta. Who doesn't like rice or pasta? I don't eat green vegetables. I love sausages and the like even though I know how they are made. I make peanut butter omelets. My four basic food groups are chocolate, coffee, peanut butter, and bacon. Everything else is optional. Maybe instead of bacon it's spiced meats to include sausage and Taylor ham.

Need I go on? So how about my taste in friends? One thing I've noticed is that they have passions. There is an interest or interests that are important to them. They are aficionados. I've seen people say in profiles "I like what everybody else likes."That isn't my friends. And if they like something they more than like it. Now the thing is I don't have to share those passions. I might in fact dislike them. Some I think are downright silly. Others I share. Some I don't share but think are really cool. No matter. What counts is that my friends are the kinds of people that get excited about something. So what are some of these passions? Making music, listening to music, dance (contra, ballroom, belly, Baltic � ), roller derby (watching and playing), garages sales, sports (baseball, hockey, golf, tennis), body art, Star Wars, Phineas and Ferb, Harry Potter, marching bands, Young Adult Fiction, Nero Wolf, bridge, cooking, comics, fan fic, Egyptology, religion, atheism, theater, hiking, running, cycling, politics, activism, bacon, photography, Star Trek, Doctor Who, cats, lizards, whales, animal rights, smoked meats, veganism, science, �

How many things on that list did you say, "that's me" at? I'm of course the same way. How many passions of mine have you gleaned from knowing me or reading Wise Madness?. I�m indulging in one of them right now, blogging.

So why do I like people that are like that? I pick up their enthusiasm. I might not share it but I enjoy listening to them talk about things that give them such pleasure. There's a certain amount of social skill involved in talking about your passions with people that don't share them. Gene loves hockey. I have never really been able to get into it. But I enjoy talking to him about it because he understands that I don't understand the sport and don't care deeply about it. So he tells me what makes it important to him and what I should look for when I watch it. There opposite is this person that is very much not a friend. He will come over to me and try talking to me in great depth about players I have never heard of. That drives me nuts. There are few things more boring than a conversation on something where you have nothing to say and no interest in what the other person is saying.

Of course when you share a passion it's a bonding experience. It's the basis of so many of my friendships. How many of you did I meet at a concert, WFUV, or the Moxy Fr�vous online community? Others I met playing bridge. Alan and I met through a mutual friend but became friends when we ran into each other at a Met game.

Now I better get going if I want to make my concert tonight. I'm going to the Falcon Ridge Preview Tour. I'll see lots of you there.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 21, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!