I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 13, 2012 - 3:08 p.m.

Enforced by RADAR

I'm writing this in my office. I had to come here to print out some things including my tickets to Clearwater. I don't have a printer at home. Speaking of home there are some issues with my apartment that I can't go into here but are not good. That is triggering anxiety and once again I'm having trouble walking up stairs. Wish me luck. I've talked to people and things should work out but I don't need the stress.

I'll switch now to anti-stress aka John Platt's On Your Radar. The performers this month were Hoots and Hellmouth, The Stray Birds, and Paul Sachs.

I forgot to check the train times before I left but got lucky. The C train came into the station just as I got on the platform. I made it to the Living Room in 15 minutes. I love my neighborhood. I stopped at Mike's Burgers for dinner first and still got there way early. I wasn't the first one there though and spent the time talking to friends, Richard & Viki, Sharon, Jay & Catherine and who else? I wish I had a working memory. I'm not going to list all my friends at the show, I counted 21. There was a threat of rain that didn't materialize till later but I am afraid kept the crowd size down. Those that were there were hard core folkies, presenters, musicians, promoters, and people that hear live music at least once a week. Howard goes more often than me! Going to a show like that is like choosing an ethnic restaurant by where the people in that ethnic group eat. You're going to get the real deal not the stuff watered down for the tourists who don't know what's good.

Paul was up first and is a perfect example. He's not a household name but talk to anyone in the New York songwriting scene and you'll hear nothing but respect and admiration. I so often describe songwriters I like as quirky, Paul isn't. He's universal. He write in the tradition of Woody Guthrie and Lead Belly (yes that's two words). He is someone that could be easily covered.

I just wrote about the Stray Birds a month ago. I keep wanting to call them the Angry Birds and I don't even play the game; Damn cultural meme. They are part of the neo-trad movement. Mark from Spuyten Duyvil prefers the oxymoronic alt-trad. Whatever you call it it's pouring new ideas into old forms. It's a welcome addition to the music scene. I'm following a far higher percentage of bands as opposed to solo artists than I did ten years ago. As so many of them do they perform blue grass style around a condenser mic. It's hard to tell which songs are original and which are trad. They don't excite me but they hold my interest. I'll be keeping an eye on them.

This was my second time seeing Hoots and Hellmouth. Their set was more introspective and not as high energy as the first time though they still managed to raise the roof a few times. They don't hold back and they shouldn't be missed.

I of course spent a lot of time socializing. I didn't even think of making a fast getaway though I did resist going out to eat with friends afterward. Why? They were getting noodles. I'm not a noodle person. You want to eat with me after a Living room show think crepes or Katz's Deli.

I managed to get in bed earlier than most nights though I then called Lena and still stayed up later than I wanted. Even after socializing there is something different about talking to a friend on the phone before I go to bed. That always makes me feel good.

I had another little panic attack last night after I went to bed. I didn't read when I got up I watched TV and snacked. It worked.

Today I had a lot of trouble with steps. It's from the apartment stress. I think we took care of it today and things should be OK. On a bright note I'll be getting gas for my stove next week. I'll be able to cook again!

I have a ridiculously busy music schedule.
Last night � On Your Radar
Tonight � Tomoko Omura
Thursday � Mucca Pazza (technically the show is Friday as they don't go on till 12:30 AM
Friday � Burnign Bridget Clearly
Saturday � Clearwater
Sunday � Clearwater
Monday �Nels Andrews and Ariana Gillis if the shows are open to the public. It's part of the New Music Seminar.

I'm going to keep this short and head home so I'll have time to rest before I go out again tonight.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 13, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!