I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 11, 2018 - 11:52 a.m.

Detecting and Ranging, Crys, Jacob, and Annie, with Radio

Yesterday's adventure was going to John Platt's On Your Radar; The performers were, Annie and the Hedonists, Jacob Johnson, and Crys Matthews.

I always try and get to OYR before doors open to check out how things are going and to make sure that our tables are reserved. That's what I tell other people; I just like to get some schmoozing time with the musicians. It was best when we were at Rockwood Music Hall Stage 2; that has big windows facing the street and I got to lord it over the peons my friends, especially Richard, that had to wait outside. Don't tell anyone; I want people to think I'm nice.

The first row of tables was a reunion of people that went to the Red Molly show in Port Washington, Sunday night; Coco, Bruce, John, Sheila, Fred, and me. Am I missing a third person at Coco and Bruce's table? I think so. We were eventually joined by Josephine, Maggi, and Ihor, who were not at Red Molly. Jamie sat at the stool against the wall on the far end of the row. I did know everyone sitting in the front row. The Plattiverse is a community. Josephine is a friend of Fred from San Jose. He knows her because they are both members of the Tengiverse. Spell check knew Plattiverse but not Tengiverse; it does now. We are all members of multiple universes. Who else was there? Marty, Gidge, Kay, Ellen, Natalia, Jean & Liam, John not John, Perry & Beth, and I'm pretty sure I'm missing two more people. I had to spread myself thin socially. As I explained to Jacob this was not just a packed house but a high-quality audience. The people I mentioned are presenters, musicians, photographers, and cool people.

Crys was up first. I saw her for the first time just a few weeks ago when she played Common Ground Coffeehouse. She recently won a major songwriting award and had lots of buzz. I'm a skeptic so I was suspicious. It almost a third of a song for her to win me over. She deserves the songwriting award and the buzz. She pulls off the rare trick of writing serious songs of social significance while keeping a sense of humor. She counted off the things she has working against her; She's black, a woman, a lesbian, in an interracial marriage and lives in Virginia, and uses all that as a punchline. It's the technique that comedians from discriminated groups have used for ages; she just transferred it to a milieu of beautiful songs. I've seen her just twice but she's firmly in My People, the WiseMadnessverse.

So is Jacob and I have never seen him outside of NERFA. My path to him was the opposite of the one to Crys. I had heard nothing about him but liked his blurb at NERFA and checked out his Quadcentric showcase. I planned on listening to a song or two and moving on. He won me over right away. He's a virtuoso guitarist and very silly. How can I resist that combination? He could have a successful career as guitar shredder, but he does so much more, he entertains. His songwriting is clever; one of the songs evoked Eric Schwartz, PG rated Eric Schwartz. I want to see him with Michael Daves. Damn, I should have told him to head over to Rockwood 1 and see Michael. They come from neighboring states, Michael form GA and Jacob from SC, they are the same physical type, bespectacled tall drinks of water, and both play guitar like someone that sold his soul at the crossroads.

Annie and the Hedonists is a kind of band that used to be non-existent but has now found its niche. They are a string band plus, clarinet or piano, and drums, that plays a blues and swing jazz from the twenties and thirties. They could naturally share a bill with the Bumper Jacksons. Notice I didn't mention Folk, yet a home for bands like that is Folk. Like Jacob one word that anyone will use in describing them is fun. People might not say that about Crys, but they should, I do. No one on that stage took themselves too seriously. Even when there is a social message music is entertainment. They all understand that.

It was hard getting me out of there after the show, I had so many friends there. I had to talk to Liam and Jean, they just returned from Europe. It was recently announced that they are going to be opening for Anaïs Mitchell on Star Wars Day. Everyone know when that is? May the Fourth be with you. Then I talked to Kathryn, who I had just seen on Saturday, and Gidge who I saw Friday. Hey, I was with my people. I love that I have people. I'd probably still be there but I offered to act as native guide to Josephine. She's was off to another show, she's part of the tribe. She needed the 6 train, which is what I take. Adding someone to My People is as much fun as hanging with My People.

The only fly in the ointment was that I never had dinner. I figured that when I got to Pelham and had a long wait for the bus I'd go to Texas BBQ. If not, I'd throw something quick together when I got home. I lucked out, our neighbor Mark often brings leftover food from functions he runs, for us. He brought a pizza! Just what I wanted. It even had two slices I loved, pepperoni and sausage. I wanted it fast. I microwaved it for 30 seconds to get the chill off and ate them. Perhaps I should have just had it cold, but that's more of a breakfast dish.

Speaking of breakfast, bacon and eggs are calling to me. I know I said I'd have that yesterday, but I then remembered that I still had challah, so I made French Toast. Mark also brought a huge amount of garlic knots. That will complete the breakfast.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 11, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!