I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 12, 2014 - 12:04 p.m.

Echoes of Microwaves

I can't think of a good trigger mechanism to get this started. That of course was the trigger mechanism. Now I could just edit this out and start with actual content but then you wouldn't get insight into what makes me tick.

Yesterday after updating I had a full anxiety attack over an email and I'm proud of myself for reading it. It ended up not being scary at all. That happens quite a bit. Even though the anxiety is totally not irrational but arrational reasoning can help deal with it. So noting that it often ends up being not scary is important.

Last night was the second Tuesday of the month which means John Platt's On Your Radar one of the fabled islands of stability in my personal geography. I help promote the shows and I always enjoy them but they are not all created equal. This was one I was particularly looking forward to, The guests were No Fuss And Feathers Roadshow, Cricket Tell the Weather, and Mike Laureanno. When I was still in my office I got a message from Mike, his train from Rhode Island was stuck. He was able to reach John and let him know which made the show something of a scramble. Mike was supposed to go on first but we didn't know when he's arrive or even if he could make it at all. John handled it great. He mixed things up. It was a half set by No Fuss and Feathers and if Mike showed up then he'd go on otherwise Cricket would do their set. And if Mike still wasn't there Fuss and Feathers would do the rest of their set and Mike would go on if and when he got there.

Do I need to say that I new a large percentage fo the audience? I knew so many that I'm going to forego making my usual roll call. Let me just count how many I can think of. I counted 12 but I know I'm missing people. Oh duh. I count geographically "looking" around the room but forgot my table, that brings it up to 14.

No Fuss No Feathers is the act and the people I know the best, It's from left to right; Karyn Oliver, Carolann Solebello, and The YaYas. Now to go a level deeper the YaYas are Catherine Miles and the lovely Jay Mafale. The women are all chicks with dip and Jay is a rooster. These are my people. They all have the official the Budgiedome seal of approval. After the show someone said, "They are even better together than they are individually." And it's true. They have chemistry and they do each sound better with the harmonic and instrumental help of the others. As Carolann put it, this way they each have a band. It of course couldn't work if they didn't have strong material in the first place. Fittingly my favorite song of theirs is a cowrite of Catherine and Carolann that Karyn takes verses when they sing it. It's spooky and funny and surreal and you don't know exactly what's happening in it and the mystery is part of the fun. I want more cowrites! I am not sure how I feel about cow rites.

Mike did not show up before they finished their set so Cricket Tell The Weather went on next. I had seen them perform and loved them but I'm not sure where. Well at NERFA but I knew them before that. It was at Falcon Ridge but I'm not sure where at Falcon Ridge. But they aren't a band I knew. I just knew I loved them. Talking to them before and after the show I discovered that they are my people too.

Somehow the wave of the folk world aligned with my tastes and string bands are all the rage. And like so many they have Brooklyn roots! Two are from Brooklyn, one from Manhattan and one from New Haven. There's always one in the crowd. Their music fits into the broad category of New Grass. There are blue grass roots but they take it to new and exciting places. They lyrics are more akin to folk and contribute more than in typical bluegrass. But I was delighted that they did an instrumental. Last time I was at Rockwood 3 I was mainly instrumentals, Haas, Kowart Tice. And to show these are my people Brittany and Jordan are mutual friends of the members of Cricket.

Mike was still not there after Cricket's set so No Fuss and Feathers came back on and did a second set. Mike finally arrived at 9 when the show was supposed to be over. Good thing the next act wasn't till 9:45 so he got to go on and do four songs.

I had only seen Mike do one set in a hotel room at NERFA. When that happens I always wonder if people are as good as I remember them. Guess what, he was! He writes pure poetry. Often when I say that it's almost like reciting to music. But that's not what Mike does, he sings. He played with Jack Hardy for years and there is a definite affinity to Jack's music. Last night was the third anniversary of Jack's death. How appropriate was it that Mike played and he of course did his song about Jack. There were lots of people from the songwriters exchange there so when he said the line "shut up and sing" people laughed

I took a ton of pictures and kept too many of them so I'll just do a slideshow. The lighting is so bad there but these came out much better than I expected.

Someone who should know better started taking flash pictures. At least he stopped when I asked him to. Is this going to be my new pet peeve?

After the show I hung out in the back room for about an hour then went to dinner at Georgia Barbecue. I'm addicted to their fried chicken. I didn't get home till 11:40, much later than usual for On Your Radar.

Today's an off day. I'll do laundry. Maybe I'll go out later and take a walk, that would be good


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 12, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!