I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 25, 2012 - 10:41 a.m.

O Lucky Man

I pretty much took yesterday off so now I have to figure out what to write about. I didn't make it out of my house to the evening when I went shopping. I still need lots of things for my kitchen but I managed to cook my first real dinner last night. It was simple, ham steak and mashed potatoes. It is amazing how many little things you need in a kitchen and how few of them are here. I still need a measuring cup, mixing bowls, a cutting board, a can opener, a spatula, an omelet pan/skillet, bread knife, and wooden spoon. Today's plans include going back to the restaurant supply store, Bed, Bath, & Beyond, and Trader Joe's. I'll make one of my soups for dinner.

Despite my limited tool kit the dinner was great and it felt so good to be cooking for myself again.

I was so busy this week I was late returning Alan's phone calls. Part of that is that I know his voicemails last forever. He doesn't use email and will leave a list of 20 Met games and want to know which ones I want to go to. I paid for not listening this time and missed out on seeing any games in the Met-Yankee series. Of course the Mets lost two out of three. The Mets have been very lucky this year and that scares me. The Mets have a history of taking any chance success too seriously and expecting them to repeat. That is one of the prime reason that they've only had one period of sustained success, the mid and late eighties.

I had a rough time physically last night. I woke up in the middle of the night with my nasal passages totally congested, no air could move at all. I woke up not being able to breath, it sometimes takes me time to shift to mouth breathing in my sleep. It's a horrible feeling. When I was trying it felt like I had asthma and couldn't exhale. My chest hurt. I'd call it a panic attack as I actually panicked but this was for a good reason. It took me a minute to remember how to deal with it. I have use those breathing strips you put over your nose. I haven't needed one in months which is why I forgot about them. I'll put one on before I go to bed for a while.

I usually have therapy on Mondays but my shrink couldn't make it this week so I'll use this edition of Wise Madness to improve my mental state.

I've been thinking about how much better the universe I live in is compared to the ones some other people live in. No I'm not talking about people living in Sudan. I'm talking about people that live nearby but in a parallel universe, ones that intersects mine. I can walk down the street with these people and see so many of the same things but the meaning of what we experience is totally different. If I walk down the street and someone bumps into me it's because the person was distracted or I was distracted. If the same thing happens in the parallel universe it's because the other person is malicious and filled with hatred. The population of that universe is filled with malevolent beings dedicated to making others miserable. You have to at least give them credit for being conscientious, I don't know anyone that would have the energy or concentration to spend so much time thinking about other people, let alone how to hurt them. In my universe people hurt each other primarily out of carelessness and lack of effort. I have friends who have to live in these malignant worlds. They learn to perceive the hatred. If I go into a store and they are out of something it's because they are sold out. In the alternate universe it's because they don't like my friend and won't sell it to him or her. I don't know how they know these things but they do and are sure of them. Entire businesses are set up for no purpose but to make their lives miserable. They will spend extra money just to make products more dangerous.

I�m lucky. My world doesn't work like that. Good thing or I'd be in big trouble. I've always relied on the kindness of strangers, well at least friends. Sure there are lots of annoying people. I often write about them here. Last night at the supermarket only one door was open to go both in and out of the store. A woman decided to stop her cart two feet from it and block the way why she talked to someone. In my mind she was being an idiot. In the alternate universe she does that deliberately. I laugh at well as curse and tell you about it because it's fun too.

I used to try and teach people to look at things differently but it just doesn't work that way. No matter how illogical it is to think people are devoting their lives to making you miserable some people can't help thinking that way.

Now I'm going to make myself bacon and eggs and coffee! It's been too hot to make coffee since I bought my French press and grinder. I don't want to buy another iced coffee maker, I have one in storage. I guess I'll have to make iced coffee the old fashioned way and keep it in the fridge. I just have to remember to make it in advance. That's the big advantage of the Mr. Coffee Iced Tea Maker it makes iced coffee or tea in the same time it takes to brew a pot of coffee. You can drink it immediately.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 25, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!