I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 03, 2013 - 12:08 p.m.

Order of the Odd Songs

I'm starting this at home but I have to go out in 37 minutes and I'm not dressed so I'll finish it later over really good coffee. I look forward to that on my Friday morning excursion.

Yesterday I told you the joke I said in class about asking the students to not cheer or kiss me ... especially the boys, when I announced that the next test would be a take home. It went over well in the first class but I worked on the timing and it knocked the second class dead. Yes to me teaching is an opportunity to do stand up.

I made up both tests Now I have to work on the finals. I can't use old finals as a foundation as I covered different material this year, much less material. I'm going to amalgamate the tests. The pre-calculus students will know what they really need to know for calculus. I don't want their calculus teacher to hate me.

I've been staying in this week while my legs recover. They have been making nice progress. I walked down the steps this morning without my knees killing me. I was going to stay in again last night but decided that my mental health needed for me to go out. Not only that but my ratings have been crashing since I started staying home so I needed to get material to write about.

I got a Facebook Invitation from Alex Mallet (he apparently has no website) for "Odd Song Night at Roots Cafe." I've never see Alex solo or with the Alex Mallet band, only with the Union Street Preservation Society but I like their music and equally germane, I like Alex's sensibilities. I've talked to him and Sara Bouchard his bandmate in USPS a number of times and they are my kind of people and I figured there was a good chance they'd make my kind of music. That doesn't always work but it's worth a shot.
the show was at the Roots Cafe. I had never been there before last week and now I was back a week later. It's funny how those thing work. This visit had nothing to do with last week's which I heard about from Katherine. As it is right by her house I did ask her to join me but she couldn't make it.

I was not disappointed. The point of the evening was that the performers were all singer/songwriters doing songs they don't normally perform. It started with Elisa Flynn (at least that's who I think it was), a folkie, doing a song that her punk rock band from the 90s did. That's the general idea. Alex who usually plays in bands did songs reminiscent of Jonathan Richmond, one about Krazy Kat and Ignatz the Mouse and the other about why some things exist, like fried vegetables. They were exactly the kind of thing I was hoping to hear. The only reason I remember what they were about was that I asked him about it later. I was going to say what Sara sang about but that's totally left the premises I know she played the autoharp and I liked them.

I was hoping that Katherine would stop by near the end but she didn't. I figured I'd make it an early evening but it took me a while to figure out how to get home. There are many possible routes and none of the ones that Google suggested appealed to me. While I was outside dithering with my phone it rang, It was Katherine. She was at the Roots Cafe so I went back and joined her. Don't you dare think, "sometimes things are meant to be." It's just that sometimes chance works out well. It was purely fortuitous which does not mean fortunate, it means by random chance.

We hung out at the Roots for a while which is when I asked Alex to remind me what his songs were about. I had tried without success to tell Katherine, I give myself credit for remembering to introduce them. I felt they should know each other. They travel in the same musical circles. What I didn't know was that they live on the same block. I am good at picking kindred spirits. I also got to say hello to Alex's girlfriend, or is that wife? Sammi, or is that Sammy? Or Sami, or am I getting it totally wrong? It really isn't easy not having a brain,

Katherine and I then went over to see Alan who was cheating on Bobtown and playing with a another band in a bar down the block, They really tried too hard to get me to like then, They covered songs by Johnny Cash, Hank Williams and Woody Guthrie, It really doesn't get any better than them, Did you know that I love Country, as long as it's the right Country. People judge Country and Western music based on the pop crap they hear. 95% of Country Music is crap just l,ike 95% of everything is crap. But the good stuff is there.

After we left there I found my way back to the Last Homely House West of the Mountains, Google Maps timed it perfectly and I had almost no wait for the trains.

I haven't talked about my fantasy baseball team since the draft. That's because they hadn't been doing well. In the last week the pitching has started to play up to their capabilities and now your beloved Nashional Batnoses are in fourth place and in first for the week! It's a weird team. It's the opposite of my usual composition. It's very top heavy with a few players producing all the value. I have three of the top RBI men in the American league on the team, Mike Napoli, Chris Davis, and Nelson Cruz. The rest of the guys don't drive in anyone, If we win it will be on the strength of our pitching, I get so happy when I see my team had a good day,


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 03, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!