I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 19, 2012 - 10:50 a.m.

Obsessed.

I woke up too early but I pretty much slept through the night; that's an improvement. The problem is I woke up with my knees hurting from the Crohn's. This should not be happening when I'm taking 40 mg a day of prednisone. I took some acetaminophen, that should help.

I did another day doing nothing yesterday. I managed to leave the apartment in the evening to buy a plantain, milk, ... & ... , OJ, and eggs. I didn't even do any reading other than the Sunday Times. Perhaps I needed a weekend like this.

Somehow when writing yesterday's entry I neglected to write one of the big things I wanted to write about; my obsessions. I have quite a few but I think at lower levels of obsession than most people. We'll return to that later. I'll start simple by just discussing things I'm obsessed with. There are authors. Once I get started on one I often don't stop till I've read everything or at least all within a genre. This goes back to childhood. Here's a partial list: Jules Verne, H.G. Wells, Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, J.R.R. Tolkien, H.P. Lovecraft, James Branch Cabell, Rafael Sabatini, Lord Dunsany, Terry Pratchett, Larry Niven, Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Stephen J. Gould, Hal Clement, ... Yeah there are a lot of them.

There are the musicians; Dylan, Renaissance, The Roches, Christine Lavin, Moxy Früvous, The Kennedys, Da Vinci's Notebook, Richard Thompson, Red Molly, Crooked Still. I have to stop because of the people I'm afraid I'll leave out, not for lack of ones to add.

I really should just say "music." There's Falcon Ridge. I don't just go to the Festival. It becomes a focus for my year. I am part of the festival to some people. How much time and energy do I invest in The Budgiedome? I've become become obsessed with mooching there. I no longer have to cook or buy food. I know who is going to not just feed me but who will ask to feed me. Have I mentioned that I'm not proud?

Now I do NERFA too. I'm not really in the business but somehow I make it my business.

Actually now that I'm on the board of the Christopher Street Coffee House I guess I am in the business. Except for the money part of course. The Folk Music business is more of an oxymoron than an industry.

I've been known to obsess on TV shows too. For most of these I've seen them all multiple times and bought books of episode guides. For some I've been to cons, dressed as characters rated all the episodes, and even wrote and ran a jeopardy game at a DragonCon: Twilight Zone, Star Trek, the Avengers, The Prisoner, Doctor Who, Blakes 7, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Red Dwarf, MST 3K, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, and now Phineas and Ferb.

Some of these obsessions are pretty much private. Others are social. If we have nothing to talk about Bad Carey and I can always bring up Twilight Zone. Good Carey and I cannot have a conversation without bringing up Phineas and Ferb and Platypuses. My favorite self-description is now Sexy Sexy Monotreme. We dressed as Candace and Perry when we were in Toronto. My Facebook Profile has a picture of Perry the Platypus.

I should mention that I'm obsessed with Facebook. I'm on it about 29 hours a day.

Yet with all that I'm not as obsessed as most people do when they become obsessed. I don't count how many times I go to hear each band or how many times I see a movie or a TV show. I don't know every little detail. I don't want to know each little detail. I don't write down setlists. I can't tell you the last time a band played a certain song. I don't know dates. I just have fun with all these things, not compulsions. Sure I might run out of town to do something but it's always to get together with friends, not just for the band or show or movie. I won't go out of my way so I'll be the first one to buy something. It is never a competition for me. That stuff scares me.

One of my obsessions is Turntable.fm. I pretty much only play with Carey but when I do it's a highlight of my day. Yesterday we played for hours. Partially it's about playing music for each other. Partially it's about just talking to each other. Yesterday we came closer to Walling than we have in ages. Walling? What's Walling? That's a term we used for our conversations that started on the Frühead.com Power Wall. They soon moved beyond that but it was always called Walling. It's where we'd either talk about our problems or distract each other from our problems. Often we'd do both at the same time. It's an art. I'm going to cheat and point you to what Carey had to say about it on Facebook. I hope you can read this. Gordon and I Should Have A Show on Sirius xm.

And that's the thing we should. I have it all planned out except for one tiny detail, having the show. It doesn't have to be on Sirius. We just need a somebody to not only to do the show but pay us big bucks to do so. We're not talking Howard Stern money. We'll do it for 1/100 th what he gets paid. Well that much a piece. OK together as long as it includes health insurance. Now it isn't like I don't know people in the business. Come on Meg Griffin, Ron Olesko, Mary Sue Twohy, and of course everybody at WFUV. Here's your chance to be heroes and discover major stars. We'll be like the Car Talk guys of folk music, except that we don't just play folk. We play folk/rock/broadway/cheesy Disney/good Disney aka anything from Phineas and Ferb/classical/neuromusic/a capella/blues/world/vampire and monster/Irish/comedy/parody/Jewish/marching band/bowie-to-davy-jones segue music. In between you get our conversations which we've been told are entertaining. Somehow the more we ignore the existence of the rest of the world the more entertaining the rest of the world finds us. We'll expand your horizons. Thanks to our Phineas and Ferb obsession we know far more than any childless so called adults should know about Disney Channel programming and you'll learn it too.
I bet you haven't heard a whisper of the greatest piece of popular music since the second time they played Last Train to Clarksville on the Monkees.

I should warn you that there might be some irony here and this might make your brain die from malnutrition.

You can see how well spent the money was on that. "Friday" was made as a Bat Mitvah present. This is pro all the way

On our show some segments we'll give ourselves time to find the perfect segue. Others we'll play like we do on Turntable where we have to find our next song in real time before the other person's songs is over. When playing classics like TTYLXOX we might be able to get away with talking over the music, even perhaps interrupting it. We'll play and sings our original songs. Well Carey will, I don't want to make your ears bleed. You'll get to hear the greatest song every written. If things don't run smoothly you might even get to find out who it is really about. Then I'll get to find out if they will laugh or if I'll lose two of my best friends. Now that's reality radio.

So yes once again. This is going to happen. This is our next career. Except for the small detail of having it actually happen. Remember you can be the one to hire us, just be prepared to spring for the big bucks. Oh and lots of chocolate. We demand chocolate. And orgies. Orgies have to be part of the deal. And we each get a harem. And a bagel. No bagel no show. And not a fake bagel. A real New York water boiled bagel and it has to be delivered fresh to Carey in Chicago.

And the show will have guests of course. Lots of you, My Gentle Readers, will be on it. You know who you are. And of course cute girls and cute boys. Yes it's radio and you don't get to see them but we do and I want cute girls and Carey wants cute boys. Did I mention the chocolate? How about the toys? We want toys too.

So now go out there and make this happen. It will lead to world peace. It's hard to fight a war when you have to finish what you are doing before Carey and I go on the air. It's a win win win win win win win win win ... win chocolate win win win win platypus win win win win ... situation.

And now I have to go and make breakfast. Carey put in some comments with all the things that I'm forgetting. You know, everything important.

Look a platypus.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 19, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!