I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 01, 2012 - 9:28 a.m.

Gathering of the Nerds

Happy New Year! I'm writing this while listening to John Platt's Sunday Breakfast on WFUV. He played a set of songs by musicians he wants to introduce people to for the new year; Pesky J. Nixon, ilyAIMY, and Spuyten Duyvil. Not only are they all musicians that I love, not only have they all played the The Budgiedome, but they are all friends of mine. That just doesn't get old. He's following that with a set in honor of the 60th birthday by the original host of Sunday Breakfast, Christine Lavin, another friend. That's good as the theme for this weekend is that I'm not the social outcast that I am in my mind.

Last you heard from me I told you that I was going to take a nap. That never happened. For no good reason I'm not getting enough sleep for. That goes for now too. Last night I got home somewhat late then I was repeatedly awakened by either going to the bathroom or with leg cramps and of course I was up at eight to listen to John.

Last night was New Year's Eve. For years my tradition was to stay home alone and watch Doctor Who. Now I go out and party. Don't get the wrong impression. The party is at Warren and Tina's house. I think I'm the only one there who doesn't bring their kids. This is a gathering of the nerds. There is always games going on though I eschewed them this year and just had really weird fun conversations. It's a crowed where people can tell quantum mechanics and theory of relativity jokes and not have to explain them. We also had a round of Jewish jokes which morphed into religion jokes. Then in the middle of all this we had serious discussions of adoption and sex role discrimination, disabilities, and politics. Yes these are my people. This is a crowd I met playing bridge. They used to be a lot younger than me but they are catching up. Personally as they have kids I think they are already older than me. I'm still a kid myself.

I of course have to talk about the food. This was a New Year Eve's party and Warren treated it like a summer barbecue, he grilled hot dogs and hamburgers. Fancy food is nice but you can't really beat a hot dog off the grill. They were also giant half pound Reese Cups. At that size Warren said they were more like Reese Chalices, I suggested grails. Hey they are made of chocolate peanut butter and that makes them holy.

At midnight we gathered by the TV to watch the ball drop on Dick Clark's Rockin' New Year's Eve. It isn't the new year if Dick Clark isn't there to usher it in. When he dies that will be it. There will be no more new years.

I wish I could remember more of our conversations. That was what the evening was about.

I took two busses to get to the party and assumed that someone would give me a ride home. The losers winners were Marco and Nadia. I got home a decent hour, around 1 AM or so. I didn't actually check the time.

I have not one but two parties today, Meg Braun's birthday party and Coco's New Year's Day open house. I'll see if I have the strength for both. The problem is that getting home from Coco's in Brooklyn will be tough. Maybe I'll get lucky and someone from Queens or Long Island will be there and give me a ride.

I think I'll be doing lots of eating the rest of the day so I better not wait too long to make breakfast. It's poached eggs today.

Next week expect some more year in review kinds of things. One is going to take some prep on my part. I wonder if I'll actually do it. I should do a review of all my procrastination. I'll right on that ... later.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 01, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!