I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 28, 2017 - 11:40 a.m.

[Insert Clever Title]

This should be interesting; I'm going to write about why I'm not writing today. If not interesting at least it will be brief.

I didn't leave the house yesterday, I'm still sleepy from the meds which means I need a strong motivation to do anything. I woke up this morning, played the WFUV Question of the Day, and fell asleep with my computer on my lap.

Even when I don't go out I read, and I think so there are thoughts I could be writing about. When I started Wise Madness that was my goal, to express my thoughts not recap my actions. What I would like to be writing now are political and social pieces to get people to change the way they think and act. My dilemma is that writing about all the topics bubbling in my head would either be preaching to the choir or counterproductive. I don't want to virtue signal. I don't want your reaction to be, "Yes! That's just what I think;" or "You're wrong and I'm not going to even think about anything except how wrong you are;" in the hope that when I'm proved right I can say, "See, how brilliant I was, and you thought I was wrong." When writing opinion pieces, I want them to be effective. I want them to make the world a better place even if it is only an infinitesimal amount.

Nothing I'm thinking about is going to do that. I can rant about Trump or the Republican tax plan, but My Gentle Readers agree with me and those that don't won't be convinced. I could plead for civility in discourse, but I've done that many times. I could write about how great the gnocchi with homemade white sauce I made was, but I've done that already. So instead I'm going to make breakfast and get some coffee in me. I am going out tonight and will have plenty to write about tomorrow. Next time I feel this way I'll take something out of my ideas bin. Till then [insert your own poetic sign off as I can't think of anything that I haven't used before]


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 28, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!