I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 22, 2013 - 8:06 p.m.

Fuss and Feather

I'm killing time in my office so I might as well write and catch up on my blogging. I should have started an hour ago. I'm seeing Kat Quinn at 9 PM at Rockwood Music Hall.

So yesterday I was all prepared to move but then couldn't get any information so I gave up and went to the show I had planned on seeing, The No Fuss and Feathers Road Show: an Evening with Carolann Solebello, Karyn Oliver, and the YaYas. The show was at The Living Room. The only way that could be more of a home game would be if Laurely was working that night. I shockingly did not know everyone in the audience, just most of the nice sized crowd. Let's see how many I can name. I love doing this as I mentally scan my visual memory of the room. Anyone I didn't spot in their seats will probably be overlooked.

Fred, Jeremiah
Coco & Bruce
Meg, Elisa & Jon
Allison S, Allison T, and Jamie
Claude
Scott
Karen

I obviously knew more people that than but as usual I'm blanking. I'm not seeing the middle of the room or the far side.

This show would have been worth it if they never sang any songs. It was worth it for the banter and the heckling. Yes I contributed heckling. There was a drinking game, every time Jay wiped his lustrous head you take a drink.

This is what happens when you get people that spend lots of time together and like each other together on stage. It was pure Trainwreck with Clowns, Carey and my commedia del arte busking act. It's tragic but funny like a train wreck with clowns. Never sure if we spell traiuwreck as one word or two. Not sure there is a right answer. I'm pretty sure there shouldn't be.

Even though I didn't need music it was there, great music. It was not a band show. It was performing in the round and collaborating. There was much great three part harmony. This was more than the sum of the parts. They don't just joke well together they make music well. There's a great creepy song that Catherine and Carolann wrote together filled with murder and mayhem. It's the only one that sounds like it's by Mark's wife. I loved it as a duet but when Karyn joins in she's just plain scary. If I were Claude I would not be sleeping well. You have to see her eyes.

I was very good and didn't sing along because the whole show was recorded. On a few of the songs that's hard as I always sing along. I hope they appreciated the sacrifice I made.

They are taking this show on the road. You don't want to miss it. I have amazingly talented friends.

I of course made no attempt at a quick getaway even though I hadn't eaten. There were too many people that I had to talk to. I was feeling antsy about the apartment and needed hugs too. When I left I treated myself to a nice dinner at Mikey's. They have great burgers. It wasn't like I spent a fortune. It was just a good basic burger and fries but that makes me happy.

I decided that where I am now is quite bearable and I shouldn't rush into something I don't feel comfortable with. My therapist had a great suggestion. Offer the Thai woman to take the entire apartment for the maximum I'm willing to spend. I guess I should explain the situation. Right now I'd have a roommate but he lives in the living room. There is only one bedroom. He is leaving at the end of September it and would be up to me to replace him. I figured I'd never be able to afford it alone but maybe she'd take less money to have no headaches. It can't hurt to ask. The location is perfect and it's a lovely apartment. It just needs AC and I have that in storage. A place by myself in that neighborhood would be heaven.

I'm not going to go off on a different subject now. I have something political I want to discuss but I need to get it more organized.

In any event I have to leave now and I'm caught up.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 22, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!