I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 25, 2014 - 10:28 a.m.

Five Cent Stream

Yesterday I went to Prospect Park to see Nickel Creek as part of the Celebrate Brooklyn series. Yes I saw a pop act that people have actually heard of. Chris Thile is in the group so they have a special dispensation.

I did something I haven't done in a while but used to do all the time. Went with a group of friends. I had talked about it with Chris last week and he talked about it with other people and I asked Fred along. We wanted good seats together so Seth and I got there early, 3:30 for a 7:30 show. As I was hanging out with Seth I didn't mind at all. That wasn't a chore but fun social time. We were joined by Fred at 5, Keith who I didn't know and some time after that and Chris at 6. They opened doors at 6:30 and we grabbed 12 seats. The only other one there I knew was Zev.

The Bandshell is an odd place for me to go to. I took the train a to the Brooklyn Museum then had to walk down the far side of the park. I think I walked about a third of the total distance. I could have walked the entire way but it would have taken too long.

When I got there I ate immediately before the lines got too long. They had good chicken and amazing cheese fries. I remembered the fries from last time. Excellent captive food. That's food when you are a captive audience and can't go out once you are in.

I was shocked out few people I knew there. I didn't run into one person I knew though I had other friends there. There wasn't even a WfUV table. WNYC was there instead. But Carmel Holt did emcee.

The openers were the Secret Sisters. They were a bit too slick for my taste. They did not sell their murder ballad. It struck me as someone playing at singing a murder ballad.

I have a confession to make. I was almost totally unfamiliar with Nickel Creek. I had heard of them but the only song I knew by them was the one parodied by Da Vinci's Notebook.

So what did I think of them? I liked them. They were genuine. They were silly. You can tell they have known each other since they were kids. And of course the music ranged from good to great. Not my favorite songs but they can play and they can sing. It wasn't a religious experience but worth waiting hours to see. The world would be a lot better if more pop music was that good.

Fred had to motor to make a train but I hung out with Seth and Chris a short time after the show. Then we went our separate ways. I walked up to Grand Army Plaza this time. It's not clear which was faster there or the Brooklyn Musuem. It took me a bit over half an hour to get home. Not too bad.

When I got home I talked to Katrina as I do many, perhaps most nights. I said, "I have to blog about that today." One problem I have no idea what that was in reference to. It is so hard not having a brain. Those of you with working memories should be grateful. Katrina and I end most conversations with The Affirmations. That's our ritual. We list things that will make the other person feel more positive. It actually helps and it two ways. First it is good to be reminded of the things. Secondly it's a tradition. Rituals give structure to your life and creates bonds. I never go for religion, perhaps that's why I appreciate rituals with friends. I have had one with Carey, no not Carey, Carey for over thirty years. If one of us says that somebody is dead we go through this with us alternating saying the lines.

Like Einstein
And the Krell
And Rosencranz
And Guildenstern.
Stop looking at me like that. I'm pretty sure that Carey, yes that Carey, and I can talk for hours without saying anything but rituals.
Why am I friends with you again?
Because I'm cute
Why am I friends with you?
Because I give you presents.
This was not at all what I was going to write about but I guess it is what I did write about. I'm off to adventures with Lena today. I have no idea what we are going to do. Well think of something. I better eat breakfast. Bacon and eggs? Poached eggs? Breakfast sandwich? I'll decide when I get in the kitchen.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 25, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!