I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 03, 2017 - 12:25 p.m.

The Play's The Thing

I'm writing to Miles Davis today, Sketches of Spain, think it will influence my writing? It would be nice if there were a field where I could put what I'm listening to each day as I write. I'd leave it blank when I'm listening to Brittany Spears because I don't want you to know that I listen to her. D'oh!

Oh no, I need something not within reach to write this. That means getting up. I can do this. I need to focus, harness my qi. I did it. Now you get rewarded by getting to read what I did yesterday. My first stop was Fordham University; I had some CDs I wanted to give to John Platt at WFUV. I love going there when there isn't a drive going on. Things are much less hectic. I was lucky and he was in his office so I got to talk to him a bit. If he wasn't I'd have left them in his mailbox. I always enjoy going places for something private that I usually go to for something public. The best was going to the New York Academy of Sciences when there wasn't a lecture going on and exploring the place. Going to museums for lectures or private events is fun too. My cousin got married at the Franklin Institute. It's a bit different at WFUV because I know everybody. I got to socialize and tell Laura that I love her. She's the stations IT person and I often write her about issues on the website. I'm afraid I'm being a pest so I also tell her that I love her. I bet you don't tell your IT person that.

I had no plans for the evening till Marti asked me to accompany her to the theater. She is a critic and I benefit by being her +1. [Switching to Herbie Hancock, Miles was almost finished when I started writing] I choose my friends wisely. This took foresight as we became friends a decade before she became a critic. I had never heard of the play. I didn't remember it now. That's why I had to get up, to get the program. It's called "The Nibbler" at the Rattlestick Playwrights Theater in the West Village. It's on Waverly Place, you might think that the closest subway was West 4th Street or Christopher Street but you'd be wrong. It's the West Village where the grid is distorted by a funhouse mirror; Waverly makes at 45° turn right at 6th Ave. The closest stop is 14th Street on the 7th Avenue Line. I know that neighborhood well. I looked at Google Maps and saw it was just off 11th Street. 11th Street makes a 45° turn left at 7th Ave, so the two parallel streets become perpendicular. Now I know all this. I know I can exist the station at 12th street and be two blocks from the theater. I still managed to get lost … twice. I got distracted by the New York AIDS memorial in front of what used to be St. Vincent's hospital. That was AIDS ground zero for New York City. How have I never seen it before? Then I got totally turned around and walked north when I meant to walk south. Then I got back to where I was I walked east when I meant to walk west. I'm going to blame this on Trump. But in the end I got there not that long after Marti. We met at Taïb next door to the theater.

We sat in the second row so I could see the stage. The first row was too low. Many people in the show looked like people I know so in my head they were Amy and Lawrence and the one I who I couldn't figure out who he looked like.

The show was a coming of ages story of five high friends who just graduated high school in the summer of '92 told in flashback from 2004. The premise was a lot like American Graffiti as the kids try to figure out what they are going to do with their lives. There's the ones going off to the fancy college, there's the ones going to closer colleges, and the one that's staying at home. There was also an alien creature. Lucas saved his alien creature for Star Wars. That's why Lucas is an icon and the guy that wrote this isn't. The alien licks the kids in a sexual way and transforms them into the people they are going to be. Sounds like it might be interesting but it's not. It's pretentious. To cap it off there's a musical number at the end with a song worthy of a 4th grade play that the teacher wrote. It was painful. It was fun talking about it after the show. Marti lives in Stamford, she drove in, I'm on the way back to Stamford. That means I got a ride! No public transit odyssey and an extra hour with Marti is a bonus. She introduced me to a musician I liked. You don't really expect me to remember his name. It's something Japanese; I really think so.

Tonight, I'm seeing Ben Solee at the Rubin Museum. Dan couldn't use his ticket. I should get moving because I have to run up to Harrison to pick up my prescription. I get it filled at the hospital where I see my therapist and psychiatrist. That's normally convenient but I have a hiatus while I switch therapists. I will run out tomorrow. I might go straight from there to the show. Chris is going to and I'm going to meet him there.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 03, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!