I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 06, 2014 - 10:57 a.m.

No Fuss and Feather or Angst

I didn't think I'd be writing today. For the last three months or maybe six months I have been planning on going to the CT Folk Festival. Then I thought I couldn't go because I couldn't get there. Then yesterday Fred said he'd go and drive me. Then today he called and said Thunderstorms are predicted so we aren't going. Three of not only my favorite bands, but bands that I'm friendliest with are playing, Red Molly, Pesky J. Nixon, and Bobtown. Yes all three have macros to link to them. This is very very sad. But every cloud has a silver lining I'm going to see The Sea the Sea tonight. Not many bands send me a personal email inviting me to the show but I got one from Mira.

And now I get to write about last night. Funny thing I have a backlog of pictures to post including from last night but right now anxiety is keeping me away from that. It does strange things. When I edit I have to choose which pictures to use and that's time consuming and stressful and puts of the writing and I want to write this second.

I'm still pretty much a wreck, I will continue to be a wreck for a while, so I have to keep medicating myself, that means music. Last night was a home game, The No Fuss and Feathers Roadshow. For those of you not paying attention that's Carolann Solebello, The YaYas, and Karyn Oliver. The YaYas are Jay and Catherine aka Mr. and Mrs. YaYa. The woman are all Chicks with Dip and Jay is part of the Men's Auxiliary the Roosters. These are my people. There were more of my people in the audience, Fred & Linda, Dan & Phyllis, and the anniversary couple Gene & Isabel. The Garden stage is run by my friends Joanne and Steven. I got to be happy for the evening.

I took the LIRR there, it stops a block from the Garden Stage. I could have done this commute in my sleep except when I went to buy the ticket someone felt that in a big train station the ideal place to stand and look at schedules is blocking the ticket machine. It's the kind of thing I just don't get. Can people be that unaware? If he were embarrassed and apologized I'd be OK but he didn't seem to realize that he should have expected someone else to want to buy tickets. He had his already.

On the ride out I read Lord of the Rings and texted Katrina. I was keeping in my happy place.

I was on the guest list but it hadn't been submitted when I got there. Made no difference. I walked in the back entrance which is closer to the train and nobody questioned me. I like home games, no stress.

I saved a seat for Fred, and was joined by Dan, Phyllis, Dan's mother, and their neighbor. When Linda showed up with Fred everyone moved down a seat and we were the front row. I had forgotten to ask Gene & Isabel if they were going and they sat separately.

No Fuss and Feathers has a reason for existing. They aren't a band but they aren't quite three separate acts. They are a collective, a commune, karass (look it up). They are more than the sum of their parts. Yes there is the obvious they are all friends and the audience enjoys them enjoying each other. But there's also a musical synchronicity They accompany each other. On most song there's a clear lead and the rest support and they are brilliant at support. They don't take the spotlight at all, they do small things that enhance the lead. It can be just the right harmony, a subtle percussion, or a ting on the triangle. I have heard the acts many times but the Roadshow version is almost always superior no matter how great the original.

Before the break Carolann started extolling the trifle they sell during intermission. The trifle is the reason I go to the Garden Stage, the music is just a bonus. I was afraid everyone would rush for it so I raced out as soon as the music was over and got mine. Yes I'm shameless.

I checked the train schedule and saw there was a train at 10:36 and the next not till 11:40 or so. The show ended at 10:45 so I got a ride from Dan and Phyllis to Mineola which is just 7 minutes away by car. There was an 11:14 there. It meant I couldn't spend as much time hanging out as I wanted.

I got to the station and saw the next train was at 11:24. I was confused. I checked the schedule on my phone again. It said 11:14 � AM. I had checked wrong. I could have stayed and taken the 11:19 from Nassau Blvd and hung out till 11:14 and gotten home exactly the same time. You know why I did that? All together now. Because I'm an idiot.

I read the Times on the ride home and had peanut butter when I arrived. Then I read LOTR as I have to work at keeping the angst away. I couldn't stay up too late as I had to get up at 8:04 to make the train I didn't take. Oh and I bought a ticket for it last night to save time. Oh well

Now I'm home and writing this and I can feel the angst growing. I don't know how I'll fight it off till tonight. I'll start by making a peanut butter omelet. No I'm going to make pancakes. I haven't done that in ages.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 06, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!