I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 25, 2012 - 3:49 p.m.

Horvendile on the Run

I'm writing this on LibreOffice not word. This is going to take some getting used to. Hopefully I won't have to, somebody will either lend me a copy of MS Office or I'll find my disks in storage. Why do I need that? I got a new laptop. The old one has a terminal case of blue screen of death.

I'm getting ahead of myself. Let's roll the clock back to Sunday. Lori and Joe offered to help me get some stuff out of storage. That meant taking the LIRR out to Queens village. I wanted to leave early enough to get breakfast at McDonalds. I would have but Christine Lavin subbed for John Platt on Sunday Breakfast and played this long routine by Don White near when I was going to leave. It kept going on. It was very funny so I didn't want to leave till it was done. Finally I had to leave to guarantee making my train. It did not leave enough time to stop at McDonalds. In any event it was after 11 and they had stopped surving breakfast. I had good luck with the subway and could have grabbed something at Dunkin' Donuts at Atlantic Terminal. I went there and was told they had no breakfast sandwiches. DD serves those all day. I don't know why they had none. So I was hungry when I got to Queens Village. I found Lori and Joe and we went to the DD that is right by the station. Almost every LIRR station has a DD nearby. When we got there they were out of croissants and only had bagels that are bad for my Crohn's. We had to stop at a third DD to get me fed.

We then went to Marshall's because I needed a big suitcase. I was lucky and found a nice one $30 cheaper than the rest. When we got to the storage it wasn't as difficult as the last times because I just needed things I had recently put in it. I went through the bags of clothes and took some. I could use more but that would have meant heavy lifting. It can wait.

They then drove me back to my apartment. I dropped off the stuff then we went to my old neighborhood for food and entertainment. I finally got to take someone to the Habana Outpost but not till after I moved away from the area. I then showed them Fort Greene Park and the great bookstore. This is where I want to live,


What is it?


The bodies are actually buried under the tower. I don't care I want to live there. It's in my old neighborhood with a great view. I could have have house concerts on the rooftop terrace. As for a bathroom the visitors center isn't far away. Sure it's another building but I'm used to Falcon Ridge. That's a lot easier than walking to the portapotties.

I then somehow found our way back to Joe's car. I stopped at the Pathmark for some toiletries then planned on racing home then out again as I had an apartment to see. I checked my email about that and found a new one. The apartment was gone. Sigh. I'm still looking for a place.

Yesterday I went to school and the problems continued. The numberpad lock on the office door is broken. It work occasionally. I got in because it worked for a colleague earlier and he opened the door from the inside for me. Apparently this had been going on since Friday. Did anyone do anything about it? No. Dozens of people use the office and nobody did a thing. I had to call maintenance. Actually I went to security and they called for me as they had the number.

After class it was still broken. I looked up the number online and called. Nobody answered and I left a message. I called again at the end of my break and left another message. That was an hour and a half later, When I got back from the second class it still had not been fixed. I called again. I went back down to the lobby and ran into a maintenance guy. He called the guy responsible for fixing things. We'll see if it is fixed by tomorrow.
I then raced down to my therapist. I didn't have to race. Even changing trains it only took 10 minutes on the train plus another four minutes walking. I was actually early.
I spent the session bitching about things. I had enough to bitch about. I never got to talk about the good things.
Then I went to Staples and bought the new computer. I spent much of last night setting it up. I want to synch firefox to my other computers but have not quite figured that out. I think I'll have to take it to school tomorrow and try synching it from there.
You know that I self-medicate. No I don't use drugs, I use more powerful things, chocolate and things that give me pleasure. I pamper myself. So what am I reading now. You can figure it out. Yes a Discworld book, Interesting Times. It's a Rincewind book. He is just what I need. He isn't a hero, he isn't even really a protagonist. He doesn't make things happen. Things happen to him. But the thing is Rincewind always wins. Why? Luck. Everyone in Discworld has an hourglass that runs out at death. Rincewind's has a geometry so complex it takes more than 3 dimensions to hold it. Even DEATH can't figure it out. So why is he good for me now? Here is what the archchancellor of the Unseen University has to say about him.

... this Rincewind fella has been chased by just about every army in the world, has been bounced around life like a pea in a drum � "

"What I don't think you've spotted here, Dean, is what I might call the common denominator. Chap stays alive. Talented.


That's a role model for me. Staying alive is good. The book is working well as medication.

This morning I finally had my McDonald's breakfast. This was another indulging myself. They have a deal two sausage mcmuffins for $3. Normally one is $2.80 or so. I really shouldn't have had two, each one is 450 Calories. I couldn't resist. That is a big problem with fast food. It encourages people to eat too much. A problem with this neighborhood is that there aren't places to sit and eat other than fast food. There are plenty of Caribbean places which I love but none I'd feel comfortable sitting and eating in. It's all just a couple of stools and a tiny counter if anything. That's getting into a whole other rant and I don't have time for that now. I have to do laundry and return to the apartment hunt.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 25, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!