I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 14, 2010 - 10:46 p.m.

Impression Sunrise NERFA

I'm going to attempt to write an entry despite being on very little sleep and not able to muster the energy to look at my notes or edit my photos of NERFA. This is just going to be my general impressions.

NERFA is Amazing!!!!

I'm tired so I'm understating it. At NERFA there were kindred spirits everywhere I looked. I followed the advice given at the newcomers workshop and sat with people I didn't know at most of my meals. That led to my meeting many wonderful people, a disproportional number of whom were Canadians. I met musicians I've been fans of for years. I met people I never heard of that were incredible musicians. I saw someone play a didgeridoo while wearing a kilt. I got bumped into by a kora. I met a friend of friends that was told to keep an eye out for me. I met a long lost relative. At least he is now since I adopted him into our family. I hung out with some of my favorite people in the world. I listened to music and discovered musicians with people who were experiencing it the same way I was. I discussed the Monkees while I was the naked guy in the gym, well at least the spa locker room. I ate lots of food. I partied with folk legends. I got a much better handle on my place in the folkiverse. I got six full hours of sleep the first two nights. I got a couple of hours sleep the last. I got hugs and hugs and hugs. I heard more nice things said about me than I can ever remember happening in a weekend. I made more new friends than I ever have. I introduced myself to people that I've known of for years but never approached. I was introduced to Tevye. I swapped stories with legends of folk. I got teased. I teased. I applauded like crazy. I sort of danced. I sang till I couldn't sing. I felt I belonged. I ate chocolate. I started running inside jokes with people that I never met before. I talked to Snidely Whiplash. I saw a guy play an accordion with his left hand and first a trumpet then later a bagpipe with his right. I saw lots of beautiful women. I got hugs from lots of beautiful women. I didn't have a posse, I had many posses. I went to a birthday party of not one but two friends. They are married. To each other. I gained some insight into songwriting, myself, how others see me, and how I see others. I was happy the entire time.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 14, 2010
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!