I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 12, 2012 - 12:11 p.m.

Whoa Nellie

I got up way to early today, before 7 AM. I've been doing that too much and for no good reason. Then I get tired during the day.

Yesterday I made my first peanut butter omelet since I moved. That's one of the things that automatically makes me happy. Today for breakfast I'm making grits for the first time here. I now eat like the anti-Monk. He keeps everything separate, I like mixing everything together. I'll just throw my poached eggs and sausages into the grits. I might put some peanut butter in there too. If not I'm thinking of trying olive oil instead of butter. Anyone try that?

I stayed in during the day then went out to Madison Square Park to see Nellie McKay. I got there at 6:05 which I thought would be early enough to be able to put a tarp down from for a 7:30 show. It might have been but the show was at 7:00/ I was able to find a spot up front but just for my stadium seat. I was by myself but I brought the tarp in case friends of mine showed up later and wanted to sit with me. I offered that on FB. Oh and I'm an idiot. Last time I used the tarp and chair I also brought a cooler with freeze packs. They were still in the bag so I carried all that extra weight for nothing. The packs were of course not even frozen, they were useless dead weight.

Once I got my spot, right in front of the piano I might add, I could have spent my time reading. But you know me better than that. I'm at a concert, I know there will be people there I know, so I went in search of them. I didn't see anybody back stage so I went to the Information Booth to see who would be there from WFUV. It was the lovely Kathy. I just patted myself on my back because I remember to spell her name with a K. I still double checked. There are certain names I can never feel confident about. I check how to spell Laurie MacAllister's name every time I use it. There are so many variants, is it Mac or Mc? How main L's? I noticed that on FB people consistently misspell her name. But back to Kathy. We talked about The Newport Folk Festival and the Hobbit, and speaking Elvish and all sorts of fun stuff.

I didn't see anyone I knew in the audience but then I saw that Maggi was backstage so I went to say hi and saw that John Platt was there too. The three of us were sitting together the night before. I also met the people that run the Emelin Theater. I even remember one of their names, Lisa! I remember because it isn't Sunshine. No I'm not going to explain that. I wish I remembered his name. They are kindred spirits.

When I was talking to them I saw Richard. If I had room to set up my tarp I'd have asked him to join me. I knew once I couldn't put it down I'd meet people I'd like to join me

I didn't discover that I had the time wrong till the show started and I was still back stage. I had to make a dash for my seat without disturbing anyone. I did make it there before Nellie took the stage.

Once I was seated and the show started I spotted more people I knew. Kirk was not even in the oval, he was off to the side of the stage. Then Tina, Rachel, and Julia sat down 20 feet from me. I knew I had to know people in the audience. Too bad I didn't set up the tarp.

Now on to Nellie. I am not sure there is anyone I enjoy seeing perform more than her. That doesn't means she's my favorite performer. She's what is known in math as a maximal element. Everyone can't be compared. But she is as least as good as anyone I compare her with. Of course she's also incomparable. That's part of what makes her great. Nobody does quite what she does. If she didn't play any music she'd be entertaining. She could be a successful comedienne, monologist, or performance artist. Her onstage persona, which is just like her offstage persona, is reminiscent of Gracie Allen or Judy Holliday. If you don't pay attention you think ditzy, if you do you know she's brilliant, pure genius. She performs songs from the great American Songbook, jazz, but mainly her own compositions which can be all over the place. Most are funny. Some are laugh out loud funny and others are you have to really think about them to be funny. Dave Cantor's songs for Dave's True Story are the closest thing.

Then there's her musicianship. She plays the piano like nobody's business. She got serious chops. Then she'll shift over to the silliest instrument the uke. She was playing it before it became a fad. Did I mention that she also dances? Have you gotten the idea that I like her? Good. She should be on our not to be missed list. The only reason I don't see her more often is that she often plays expensive venues. When I first started seeing her she was unsigned and played tiny no cover clubs in the East Village and Lower East Side for tip jar money. I love that she's successful but I could afford to see her a lot more often then.

After the show I saw that I knew one more person there, Sylvia who was sitting not that far from me. I said hi to her and to Rachel, Tina, and Julia, but couldn't find Kirk.

After the show instead of eating out I headed home to cook dinner. I just made a burger but discovered that I didn't have ketchup so I made it a blackened cheese burger. It was yummy. I had it with Trader Joe's home fries. I make them or the microwave mashed potatoes when I don't want to cook a potato from scratch. I'd have made fresh mashed potatoes but I don't have any half and half in the house and I like them best when made with that instead of milk. I need to buy some red potatoes for roasting. All I have now are the Yukon Gold which I just used for potatoes that you start off boiling.

Now it's time for breakfast. I realized that I can't make poached eggs with grits today because I only have one pot. I'll check again to see if there is another. I'll have the poached egg on toast.

No music tonight. It's my one night off.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 12, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!