I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 08, 2013 - 5:33 p.m.

Batnose's Mythology

Sorry I'm updating so late. Today has gone a bit off kilter. My plans for the day were canceled because of the weather and I left early to drive Celebrian someplace. That should have gotten my day off at a fairly normal pace but I got hit by sleepiness. That's been happening to much lately. Now I'm at school. I had a 16 ounce coffee before I left and I am drinking a 20 ounce coffee. Maybe when I'm done with that I'll be awake. I came to school to write a test but I'm not sure I'll have time to do that. Very sad.

Yesterday I was good and wrote my Finite Math finale even though that meant missing seeing Mia Dyson. I need it done by Monday but Lena is coming this weekend so I won't be able to work then.

As usual the admin was out of the office yesterday which meant people came to me for help. This is a tech school but nobody can use a computer or copying machine. I showed nothing I didn't learn from being in the exact same position they were in and figuring it out on my own. One problem I can't figure out what was wrong. When the teacher tried to print a page from the internet it wouldn't print. I saw that it was because it wasn't sending it to a printer but to onenote. The thing is the drop down menu didn't include any of the printers. He was using MSIE so I switched to Firefox and it worked fine. How can a printer installed in the computer not show up on a printer list in MSIE? Of course it's another reason to not use MSIE.

The semester is over. The final is next week. Yet when I went over the homework in precalculus not one student had done it. Not only that but they couldn't do a simple Pythagorean theorem problem This is middle school stuff.

When I got home last night I watched Firefly. Believe it or not I did not watch the series when it was new even though I was an am a huge Joss Whedon fan. I somehow missed the first episode. Bad Carey saw it and didn't like it. He said it was a western. I watched maybe the third episode and I wasn't impressed. Now that I'm watching the series I'm still not impressed and don't see what people went gaga over. It's watchable and I'm going to watch the entire series but it's not church. That's my benchmark for Joss. I picked up the expression from Vin Scelsa who said watching Soparanos was church, something that you have to watch ever week. For the first three seasons Buffy the Vampire Slayer was church. If was out I recorded it and watched it as soon as possible. If I missed it my life was incomplete. When Joss moved his attention over to Angel Buffy ceased to be church. It was still good, still my second favorite show, but not something I planned my week around. Angel was. When Joss's attention went from Angel to Firefly Angel ceased to be church. I thought Firefly would be and when it wasn't I didn't watch it at all. I did give it another try but still wasn't converted. And I'm still not. I just find the world it creates doesn't hang together. It IS a western. I find the explanations for the social conditions unconvincing. It isn't overintellectualizng, it isn't intellectualizing. It's the feel. But the characters are fun and Morena Baccarin is on the short list of most beautiful women ever on TV.

Since I became a nomad TV has not been much a part of my life. The closest thing to church was Phineas and Ferb. If it wasn't on all the time it would be church but I know if I miss it I know I can always catch it again.

I have work to do so I'm going to now totally cheat. Instead of writing I'm going to copy and paste conversation of comments Carey and I had on FB.

Carey Sometimes I suspect I'm only in this profession so I can introduce a new group of kids to Abiyoyo every year.

Horvendile But not that Abiyoyo.

Carey whenever the kids pretend i'm abiyoyo, i imagine that i'm wearing a gorilla suit and a diving helmet.

Horvendile You need to get a gorilla suit and diving helmet. Every classroom should have one.
� �
Horvendile Oh and a violin bow.
� �
Horvendile and bubbles
� �
Horvendile Now where is that picture of abiyoyo I drew?

Carey the bubbles and the violin bow i have.

Carey you drew a lot of pictures of abiyoyo.

Horvendile There is one that you or I scanned that is now online someplace.

Horvendile I think he's flying in the air.

Carey i don't think i scanned that one.

Horvendile It might be with one of my schemes to blow neal up.

Carey yes! it's the one from the downtown messiah

Carey that was your program, not mine, that we defaced.

Horvendile Where would it be posted?

Horvendile FHDC?

Carey i have no idea

Carey that was the night we met those women who couldn't figure out what our deal was

Carey those poor women, thinking that was something anyone could ever figure out

Horvendile We should have just said, "we are going to hell together."
� �
Horvendile



Horvendile There it is

Horvendile What is going on with the plane? Is it bombing abiyoyo?

Horvendile What kind of sick people make up code names for their code names?
� �
Carey i think the plane is dropping abiyoyo on uncle buford????

Carey also, what was that other thing we went to at the bottom line, i think in early 2003, that was a phil spector tribute?

Horvendile that's it! He is in the air? I have no idea why it's doing that but that's what's happening.
� �
Horvendile The Beat Goes On

Carey the kennedys and marshall crenshaw and tammy faye starlite and syd straw were all there, and maura and syd were comparing glitter gels

Horvendile Tribute to the Wall of sound

Horvendile You're good.

Carey i was trying to find it in your archives but i couldn't

Carey and now i can't remember why i was looking for it

Horvendile They are doing something that tomorrow

Carey ohhhhhhh. it was in 2002.

Horvendile http://www.theboweryelectric.com/in-the-map-rooman-english-folk-revivalwith-derek-cruz-derek-dunivanplus-old-soul-revival-bandand-special-guests/
IN THE MAP ROOM:�AN ENGLISH FOLK REVIVAL�WITH DEREK CRUZ & DEREK DUNIVANPLUS OLD SOUL REVIVAL BANDAN
www.theboweryelectric.com
OLD SOUL REVIVAL BAND Edward RogerS James Mastro Don Piper Gary ThomaS Tom Clark...See More
� �
Horvendile Lots of the same people

Carey aww, i was hoping you would have had the setlist typed out

Horvendile No I only did that for you and you were there

Horvendile so somewhere you have the list?

Carey i'll have to check my old blog. all i remember is the kennedys doing "goin' to the chapel" and tammy doing "he hit me and it felt a kiss"

Carey OMG THAT WAS THE WEEKEND WE HEARD THE NO SHOW

Carey and the cartoon bear in connecticut

Carey and we met the little kid whose favorite song was "cold and lonely"

Horvendile The official radio show of neuroworld

Carey and that was the weekend we saw the kennedys and cady

Carey and deirdre and eric

Carey and stalked eric at the rest stop and got stalked by deirdre instead

Carey EPIC WEEKEND OF EPICOSITY

Horvendile I have and we wrote the greatest song ever

Carey YESSSSSSSS

Carey DOO DA DOO DOO

Horvendile And there was 10 year old gella

Horvendile I forgot the cartoon bear

Horvendile I wrote about it?

Carey no, but you mentioned the open mic and that reminded me.

Carey oh, and there was a guy from the weavers there. the one who wasn't pete or lee.

Horvendile that's half the stories the two of us have
� � 1
Horvendile and they were all one weekend.
� � 1
Horvendile no wonder we didn't have time to eat and you almost ate me because you were starving.

Carey yeah, but it was NOT the weekend where i threw up on the turnpike and dvn did a show for us and there were monkeypants and dave carter died

Carey OR the weekend where we went to the downtown messiah and i bought a xander doll and we found the store that sold wooden sticks

Horvendile There were a bunch of weekend where half our stories come from, 20

Horvendile Math does strange things around us.

Carey OR the time we broke into the enchanted forest. OR the time we were vampires listening to christmas music in july.

Horvendile Lots of things distort time and space but we distort arithmetic.

Carey or the time we chased santa claus around fells point and you lent liz from radiant pig your kazoo and all the 12-year-old boys were checking me out

Carey all completely different weekends

Horvendile Or following santa claus when it was 90 degrees because he was giving out candy.
� �
Carey god, we are awesome people

Horvendile batnose
� �
Horvendile When are they going to make a movie about us?

Carey DAMMIT WHY DIDN'T I WRITE DOWN A SETLIST EITHER

Carey soon, i hope

Horvendile check your blog.

Carey ok, monkees class time now. speaking of my life of weird stories.

Carey I CHECKED MY BLOG. ONE PARAGRAPH ON THE SHOW. ONE.

Horvendile OK go off with the flying monkees

Carey ooh! i will check my old setlist notebook when i get home. if i can find it.

Horvendile OK if creepy guy two was at the show he'll have a setlist
� �
Horvendile and know what maura was wearing
� �
Carey Apologies to anyone who thought this was going to be a conversation about Abiyoyo.

Horvendile He gives most of us the creeps.
� �
Horvendile Did you know the song before we heard it together? Was that at clearwater? I'm picturing it at FRFF but I'm also picturing it with Pete Seeger though Tom Paxton is creeping into the picture.

Horvendile I didn't know it but I figure you know everything.
� �
Carey Dude, of course I knew the song, and the book (thanks, Reading Rainbow!). It's Pete's song, but we saw Tom Paxton perform it at the family stage at FRFF 2003.

Horvendile Ahhh OK, so I actually remembered right and just put Pete in because I have heard him do it.

After that I decided that we shouldn't make a movie but a weekly TV cartoon about us. Carey would be drawn as Carey circa 2001, red hair, green eyes, freckles, and a big smile. I'd be drawn as I was circa 2001, a spiny anteater.

This entry, I Can Hear Music and the next recount the weekend we were talking about. I've said this before but it bears repeating. What I loved was that we had adventures. Adventures are as much about perceptions as the events. If I weren't with Carey these would not have been stories we vividly remember 11 years after. It's the process of mythologization. The mundane was transformed into legend.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 08, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!