I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 29, 2008 - 12:49 a.m.

Spam Spam Spam Spam

How did it get so late? How come I start so many entries in that vein?

I was going to play bridge this afternoon with Roy but he got sick and had to cancel. That meant another day without me doing much of anything. That makes it hard to write. I am going to have to find something to do tomorrow. The problem is that I actually want to stay in tomorrow to listen to Idiot's Delight on WFUV. Vin Scelsa's guests are going to be The Kennedys.

As WFUV has abandoned their original format of folk and singer/songwriters, Vin has increased his focus on them. Earlier this year he had Red Molly as guests. My favorite musicians are on my favorite DJ's show. I really can't miss that. You can listen to it too. WFUV is 90.7 FM in the Bronx. If you are out of the area you can listen at WFUV.org. If you aren't going to be home you can listen when the show is archived.

It looks like the Festivus event on Facebook is not going viral. It's grown, 170 people are now attending but it isn't growing exponentially so it won't be able to sustain itself unless something changes. The infection rate is just too low.

I remembered something I wanted to write about. This will make Lena happy. It came from a conversation I had with her. I said a couple of things that she thought were freakish and I think are quite moral. Who is right?

The first was:

I'm not engaged to three different women without their consent, I'm engaged to three different women without their knowledge. There's a difference.

The other is:

I'll only get engaged to a married woman if I don't know her husband

Don't those show high moral standards? I think I'm safe writing that. I don't think any my fianc�s read this and even if they did I'm not mentioning their names so they won't know I mean them.

OK now I assured that Lena will like this entry. Will anyone else?

I watched a lot of Monty Python today. They had so many of my favorite sketches, Spam, The Spanish Inquisition, nudge nudge say no more, the dead parrot, mountains green (whenever anyone says mattress to the salesman he puts a bag on his head until everyone stands in the tea chest and sings Blake's Jerusalem, and the Piranha Brothers. Monty Python is one of those things that just make me happy.

I'm running out of gas. I hope I'm more inspired tomorrow.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 29, 2008
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!